Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

What to do with pollock while China is closed?

Pollock fishing is in full swing, Chinese ports are still closed for Russian fish products, storage capacities in the Far East are about to be exhausted, and there is not enough processing capacity. But there is no reason for panic, says the ex-head of the Federal Agency for Fishery Andrey Krainy.

Each new year of the Russian fishing industry begins with the world's largest Sea of ​​Okhotsk pollock fishing season, which lasts until mid-spring. More than one hundred and thirty ocean-going fishing vessels at this time annually catch up to 20% of all Russian fish. In the first fishing season, it is planned to catch almost one million tons of pollock and produce at least 550 tons of finished fish products from it, 80% of which is usually sold to China. Now, due to the temporary closure of Chinese seaports for foreign fish due to the risk of the spread of coronavirus infection, it is not clear what to do for Russian fishermen. We talked with the President of the Russian Fishing Sports Federation Andrei Krainy.

What to do with pollock while China is closed?
Photo: EastRussia

 - Andrey Anatolyevich, at one time you headed the Federal Agency for Fisheries for many years, you know the fish industry firsthand. Now you can analyze the processes in the economy and as a financier. How do you assess the current events in the Russian fishing industry in connection with the temporary closure of Chinese seaports for foreign fish products? 

- Without a doubt, in connection with the Chinese "fish lockdown" an acute situation arises for Russian fishermen. Events require thoughtful and coordinated decisions. Moreover, in my opinion, a serious lesson should be learned from this and appropriate adjustments can be made to the strategies and plans for the development of fisheries.

- In the Far East in the period from January to April, it is impossible to unload such large-scale volumes of fish from ships and store on the Russian coast, there are not so many freezing warehouses. The holds of the fishing vessels will also soon be full. Will the Chinese "fish lockdown" lead to a temporary large-scale shutdown of fishing in the Russian Far East?

- Of course, there will not be a complete stop of fishing, but downtime of vessels is possible. This will negatively affect the economy of fishing enterprises, and may not allow fishermen to catch the total allowable volume of pollock in the current year. In other words, Russian pollock fish products may decrease this year, and this, alas, after a while may be reflected in prices on the domestic market. Let's see how events unfold. Whether numerous refrigerators are needed for the entire volume of the annual catch of aquatic biological resources of the Far Eastern seas is a moot point. Commercial objects are built for private money and not for one situation, therefore, for an entrepreneur, economic sense is needed in everything. It is obvious that we need different and reliable sales markets, and not “cities of refrigerators” full of fish.

- Spring is approaching, and with it the second most important Pacific salmon fishing season for Russian fishermen. Throughout the Far East in 2020, the catch of Pacific salmon amounted to only about 300 thousand tons, although a record was reached a year earlier - 676 ​​thousand tons. I would like to hope that this year the catch will be good. Nevertheless, due to the sanitary and epidemiological situation, no one guarantees that China will let Russian red fish into its ports. What should Russian fishermen do in this case?

- The answer is obvious, already today think over where it is profitable to sell red fish in case of problems with China. Reality dictates - it's time to change habits, look around and see that there is also life beyond the “gates of the Celestial Empire”.

- Taking into account the temporary closure of Chinese seaports for foreign fish products, does it make sense to adjust the indicators of the project to increase the volume of Russian fish exports and create conditions for increasing the volume of sales of food products from Russian fish raw materials on the Russian domestic market?

- I am convinced that a strong country is, first of all, a strong domestic market for the production and consumption of its own products from its raw materials. Yes, competition is needed, it makes you move and work better. But when we talk about food and safety, then the priority is always the manufacturer - this is an axiom. Plans for a sharp increase in the volume of exports of Russian fish products, in monetary terms almost twofold, were drawn up under the same conditions, and now we see that the issues of food security and food prices are acquiring a special social character. The situation in the world makes you think about yourself first. Therefore, you should carefully analyze your fish counter and clear the way for Russian fish.

- For many years there has been a discussion about how to transfer fish caught in the Far Eastern seas to the center of the country, where the bulk of the population lives, instructions are given, decisions are made, but things are still there. What is the reason?

- In my opinion, no one is generally responsible for this area of ​​work, there is no personal responsibility. Yes, many have been talking about this topic for at least ten years, but what is the result? The railway with fish continues to operate according to its own laws and with its own interests, alternative transportation along the Northern Sea Route has not yet been properly organized, and there are also many bosses here. And the fish manufacturers, wholesale buyers and fish carriers need one thing - to guarantee the stability of the functioning of several internal transport corridors, including a reliable traffic schedule, reasonable prices and quality of transportation along them. In general, there is still work to be done by both government agencies and businesses.

- And yet what to do with pollock while China is closed?

- I must say right away that pollock is a cool low-fat fish of the cod family, it costs three times cheaper than cod, white meat, the whole line of minerals, vitamins and unsaturated fatty acids that have a beneficial effect on the human body. Any doctor or nutritionist will confirm that pollock is a fish for health and good mood. With proper preparation, it has an amazing delicate taste - you will lick your fingers. And I will answer your question. The solution to the "Chinese problem" that has arisen with the sale of Russian pollock depends on mutual understanding between the state and business, on the awareness of common interests in, frankly, an emergency. And also from the organization on both sides. Look, in the state and municipal system of the Russian Federation there are at least three public catering institutions: institutions of preschool and school education, as well as hospitals. In Russia alone, the proportion of children and adolescents under the age of 18 is 22,4% of the total population. That is, these educational institutions are visited daily by at least 25 million people. In general, in the EAEU countries this figure is somewhere at the level of 30 million. Even if everyone eats 100 grams twice a week. pollock, then in a year it is possible to sell to these institutions only in Russia more than 325 thousand tons of pollock (in the weight of finished products). Now the year has begun, state and municipal funding, tender procedures are just beginning to unfold, so maybe in these circumstances it makes sense for the government to make an appropriate prompt decision to provide these institutions with food from Russian pollock. At the same time, all competitive procedures, of course, will remain, only the state target setting for customers will appear - Russian pollock. But there are also hospitals, the army and the navy, and other power structures. Then all these organizations will get used to it, and here's the result - half a million tons of our pollock in finished products is guaranteed to be sold annually on the domestic market of Russia and the EAEU countries. But there is also a retail market, which also sells several hundred thousand tons of pollock every year. So, I do not see any impasse in the current situation. Moreover, this is a chance to conquer the domestic market and finally raise the collapsed fish consumption in the country.

September 29: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Куда девать минтай, пока закрыт Китай?

Минтаевая путина в разгаре, китайские порты для российской рыбной продукции все так же закрыты, на Дальнем Востоке возможности для хранения вот-вот будут исчерпаны, мощностей для переработки не хватает. Но для паники поводов нет, считает экс-руководитель Росрыболовства Андрей Крайний.

Каждый новый год рыбной отрасли России начинается с крупнейшей в мире Охотоморской минтаевой путины, которая длится до середины весны. Более ста тридцати океанских рыбопромысловых судов в это время ежегодно добывают до 20% всей российской рыбы. В первую путину планируется выловить почти один миллион тонн минтая и произвести из него не менее 550 тонн готовой рыбной продукции, 80% которой обычно продается в Китай. Теперь в связи с временным закрытием китайских морских портов для иностранной рыбы из-за риска распространения коронавирусной инфекции, непонятно, что делать российским рыбакам. Мы побеседовали с президентом Федерации рыболовного спорта России Андреем Крайним.

Куда девать минтай, пока закрыт Китай?
Фото: EastRussia

 - Андрей Анатольевич, в свое время вы много лет возглавляли Федеральное агентство по рыболовству, знаете рыбную отрасль не понаслышке. Теперь вы можете анализировать процессы в экономике и как финансист. Как вы оцениваете текущие события в рыбной отрасли России в связи с временным закрытием китайских морских портов для иностранной рыбной продукции? 

- Вне всякого сомнения, в связи с китайским «рыбным локдауном» возникает острая ситуация для российских рыбаков. События требуют продуманных и согласованных решений. Более того, на мой взгляд, из этого следует извлечь серьезный урок и может быть внести соответствующие коррективы в стратегии и планы развития рыбного хозяйства.

- На Дальнем Востоке в период январь-апрель выгрузить с судов и сохранить на российском берегу столь масштабные объемы рыбы невозможно, нет такого количества морозильных складов. Трюмы рыбопромысловых судов тоже скоро заполнятся. Приведет ли китайский «рыбный локдаун» к временной масштабной остановке рыбного промысла на Дальнем Востоке России?

- Полной остановки промысла, конечно, не будет, но простои судов возможны. Это негативно отразится на экономике рыбодобывающих предприятий, может не позволить рыбакам выловить общий допустимый объем минтая в текущем году. Иными словами, российской рыбной продукции из минтая в этом году может стать меньше, а это, увы, через некоторое время может отразится в ценах на внутреннем рынке. Посмотрим, как будут развиваться события. Нужны ли многочисленные холодильники под весь объем ежегодного вылова водных биоресурсов дальневосточных морей – это вопрос спорный. Коммерческие объекты строятся за частные деньги и не под одну ситуацию, поэтому для предпринимателя во всем необходим экономический смысл. Очевидно то, что нужны разные и надежные рынки сбыта, а не «города из холодильников», забитых рыбой.

- Близится весна, а с ней и вторая по своей значимости для российских рыбаков тихоокеанская лососевая путина. По всему Дальнем Востоку в 2020 году вылов тихоокеанских лососей составил всего около 300 тыс. тонн, хотя годом ранее был достигнут рекорд - 676 тыс. тонн. Хочется надеяться, что в нынешнем году улов будет хороший. Тем не менее, в связи с санитарно-эпидемиологической ситуацией никто не гарантирует, что Китай пустит в свои порты российскую красную рыбу. Что в этом случае делать российским рыбакам?

- Ответ очевиден, уже сегодня продумывать, куда выгодно продавать красную рыбу в случае проблем с Китаем. Реальность диктует - пришло время менять привычки, оглянуться вокруг и увидеть, что и за «воротами Поднебесной» тоже есть жизнь.

- Учитывая временное закрытие китайских морских портов для иностранной рыбной продукции, имеет ли смысл скорректировать показатели проекта увеличения объемов экспорта российской рыбы и создать условия для увеличения объемов реализации пищевой продукции из российского рыбного сырья на внутреннем рынке России?

- Убежден, что сильная страна – это в первую очередь сильный внутренний рынок производства и потребления собственной продукции из своего сырья. Да, нужна конкуренция, она заставляет шевелиться и работать лучше. Но когда мы говорим о продовольствии и о безопасности, то в приоритете всегда свой производитель – это аксиома. Планы по резкому увеличению объемов экспорта российской рыбной продукции, в денежном выражении почти в два раза, составлялись в одних условиях, а сейчас мы видим, что вопросы продовольственной безопасности и цен на продукты питания приобретают особый социальный характер. Ситуация в мире заставляет в первую очередь думать о себе. Поэтому следует внимательно проанализировать свой рыбный прилавок и расчистить путь к нему российской рыбе.

- Много лет идет дискуссия о том, как перевести рыбу, выловленную в дальневосточных морях, в центр страны, туда, где живет основная часть населения, даются поручения, принимаются решения, а воз и ныне там. В чем причина?

- Мое мнение - за это направление работы в целом никто не отвечает, нет персональной ответственности. Да, многие говорят на эту тему, уже десять лет, как минимум, а что в результате? Железная дорога с рыбой продолжает работать по своим законам и со своим интересом, альтернативные перевозки по Северному морскому пути пока не организованы должным образом, и тут тоже много начальников. А рыбопромышленникам, оптовым покупателям и перевозчикам рыбы нужно одно - гарантии стабильности функционирования нескольких внутренних транспортных коридоров, включая надежный график движения, разумные цены и качество перевозок по ним. В общем, есть еще над чем работать и государственным структурам, и бизнесу.

- И все-таки куда девать минтай, пока закрыт Китай?

- Сразу скажу, минтай - это классная нежирная рыба семейства тресковых, стоит в три раза дешевле трески, белое мясо, вся линейка минералов, витаминов и ненасыщенных жирных кислот, которые благоприятно воздействуют на человеческий организм. Любой врач или диетолог подтвердит, что минтай рыба для здоровья и хорошего настроения. При соответствующем приготовлении обладает изумительным нежным вкусом – пальчики оближешь. А на ваш вопрос отвечу. Решение возникшей «китайской задачки» с реализацией российского минтая зависит от взаимопонимания государства и бизнеса, от осознания общих интересов в, прямо скажем, чрезвычайной ситуации. И еще от организованности с обеих сторон. Смотрите, в государственной и муниципальной системе Российской Федерации есть, как минимум, три института общественного питания: учреждения дошкольного и школьного образования, а также больницы. Только в России доля детей и подростков в возрасте до 18 лет составляет 22,4% от общей численности населения. То есть, указанные учреждения образования ежедневно посещают, как минимум, 25 миллионов человек. В целом же в странах ЕАЭС это цифра где-то на уровне 30 миллионов. Даже если два раза в неделю каждый съест по 100 гр. минтая, то за год можно реализовать в эти учреждения только в России более 325 тысяч тонн минтая (в весе готовой продукции). Сейчас год начался, государственное и муниципальное финансирование, конкурсные процедуры еще только разворачиваются, так может быть в данных обстоятельствах правительству имеет смысл принять соответствующее оперативное решение об обеспечении указанных учреждений пищевой продукцией из русского минтая. При этом все конкурсные процедуры, само-собой, сохранятся, только государственная целевая установка у заказчиков появится – русский минтай. А ведь есть еще больницы, армия и военно-морской флот, другие силовые структуры. Потом привыкнут все эти организации, и вот тебе результат – пол миллиона тонн нашего минтая в готовой продукции ежегодно гарантированно реализуется на внутреннем рынке России и стран ЕАЭС. А ведь есть еще и розничный рынок, на котором также ежегодно продается несколько сотен тысяч тонн минтая. Так что, я не вижу какого-то тупика в сложившейся ситуации. Более того, это шанс завоевать внутренний рынок и наконец-то приподнять рухнувшее потребление рыбы в стране.

16 июня: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика