Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Leviathan of Bering Island: A rare find: scientists of the Komandorsky reserve discovered the skeleton of Steller's extinct cow - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Leviathan of Bering Island

A rare find: the scientists of the Komandorsky reserve discovered the skeleton of Steller's extinct cow

Leviathan of Bering Island
Photo: Marina Shitova

The opening waited for the staff of the reserve on the shore, which they seemed to be running along and across. On the island of Bering * from the sandy precipice, like a fence, huge ribs stuck out. They did not belong to any of the species living here - sea or land - not the size. Did not look like the whale.

1_new dimension.JPG

- This fall, we had three cyclones on the Commanders with wind more than 30 m / s, and large storms bare the shore terrace. The grass was badly curved. I think this cow washed away with the last cyclone. It turns out, the elements helped our find! - told the agency East Russia researcher reserve "Commander" Marina Shitova.

In place of the expedition went, 8 employees of the reserve for the time being retrained to paleontologists and half a day carefully excavated the ancient skeleton of pebbles and sand. The lower fragments were hidden at a depth of about 70 cm. The bones were carefully cleaned of sand, dried, photographed and marked, so as not to be mistaken in the subsequent assembly of the historical "puzzle". Then each bone was packed in a separate bag to reduce friction during transportation.

3_new dimension.JPG

12_new dimension.JPG

13_new dimension.JPG

- We had a great event! We found the almost complete skeleton of Steller's sea cow - a fossil that disappeared almost 250 years ago! This is fantastic news, both for the reserve and for the world science as a whole. Judging by the size and small mineralization of the bones, it was a young specimen, probably one of the last to live.

The found skeleton consists of 45 vertebrae, 27 ribs, left shoulder blades, bones of the shoulder and forearm, several bones of the wrist. In the revealed skeleton there was no skull, cervical spine, 1-2 of the thoracic vertebra, several caudal vertebrae, right side of the thoracic extremities belt, as well as the bones of the pastern and the phalanges of the fingers of the left extremity. The total length of the skeleton was 5,2 meters. Given the length of the missing parts of the vertebral column and head, it can be assumed that the total length of the animal was about 6 meters - shared the deputy director on scientific issues of the reserve "Commander" Evgeny Mamaev.

At this length, the sea cow could weigh up to 10 tons. Of aquatic mammals, it is larger than a whale. Earlier, parts of the skeleton of the steller cow were found in the Aleutian Islands, Kamchatka and in California. The Commander Islands became the last habitat of this marine mammal on the planet. Population local hunters were knocked out for only 27 years after the discovery of the species. Cleanse.

11_new dimension.JPG

Information: A sea cow, or a steller cow, or a cabbage (lat. Hydrodamalis gigas - a giant sea cow) is a human-killed mammal of the order of sirens. Opened in 1741 year the expedition of Vitus Bering. The name was given in honor of naturalist Georg Steller, the physician of the expedition, on whose descriptions a significant part of the information about this animal is based.



Steller's cow lived only off the coast of the Commander Islands, although modern paleontological data say that in prehistoric times its range was noticeably wider. Behavior of the animal was characterized by slowness, apathy and lack of fear of man. She led a coastal lifestyle, ate exclusively seaweed, alaria and laminaria. These factors, facilitating the extraction of cows by humans, contributed to its rapid disappearance. The low total number of cows played at the time of the discovery - about two thousand. The ensuing after the discovery of predatory extermination for the sake of tasty meat led to the complete disappearance of this animal to 1768 year. Steller wrote that sometimes peace-loving and not fearful sea cows were extracted simply from excitement. They were hunted with the help of a harpoon, but only one in five managed to pull ashore - the rest perished from wounds in the water.

There is a controversial opinion that the cabbage butterfly represented a dead-end branch of evolution and would eventually replenish the collection of extinct species without human intervention.

Sea-Cow-Bering-Island-Final-small.jpeg

Pallas_Sea_Cow.jpg

Figure: Female sea cow, described and measured by H. Steller. It is considered the only image of a cow made from nature.

The discovery of almost the whole skeleton of Steller's sea cow is a big event these days. The last time the remains of cabbage were found here 30 years ago. They are kept in the museum of Nikolskoe on Bering Island. In the world's museums are represented, in the majority, prefabricated skeletons. Full, that is, belonged to one animal, there are about 20.

- In general, this is a place where you will never leave without bones in the winter. Local people collect them for crafts or for sale. We have two masters in the village. The edge of the steller cow is within 10 thousand in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. This is considered contraband. If, for example, everything is legalized about mammoth tusks, licenses are issued, you can get the bones officially, then there are no laws about the cow, and we do not understand how to do it legally - shared with East Russia resident of Nikolskoe.

Probably, samples of the skeleton of the steller cow will be sent for examination to Moscow. And next year at the exhibition in the visit-center of the reserve it will be the main exhibit, telling about the nature of the Commander Islands, including the one we lost.

*Bering Island - the largest island in the Commander Islands. It is located to the east of the Kamchatka Peninsula, which is separated from the Kamchatka Strait connecting the Bering Sea and the Pacific Ocean. The island is administratively part of the Aleutian region of the Kamchatka Territory. The island was discovered by the expedition of Vitus Bering in 1741 year, here is the grave of the seafarer.

Photo: Julia Pulit, Marina Shitova, Evgeny Mamaev.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Левиафан острова Беринга

Редкая находка: учёные заповедника «Командорский» обнаружили скелет вымершей коровы Стеллера

Левиафан острова Беринга
Фото: Марина Шитова

Открытие ждало сотрудников заповедника на берегу, который они, казалось бы, исходили вдоль и поперёк. На острове Беринга* из песчаного обрыва, словно штакетник, торчали огромные ребра. Они не принадлежали ни одному из обитающих здесь видов – морских или наземных – не те габариты. Не были похожи и на китовые.

1_новый размер.JPG

- Этой осенью у нас на Командорах было три циклона с ветром более 30 м/с, и большие шторма очень оголили береговую террасу. Траву сильно загнуло. Думаю, эту корову последним циклоном размыло. Получается, стихия помогла нашей находке! - рассказала агентству East Russia научный сотрудник заповедника «Командорский» Марина Шитова.

На место отправилась экспедиция, 8 сотрудников заповедника на время переквалифицировались в палеонтологов и полдня бережно выкапывали древний скелет из гальки и песка. Нижние фрагменты были спрятаны на глубине около 70 см. Кости аккуратно очистили от песка, просушили, сфотографировали и промаркировали, чтобы не ошибиться в последующей сборке исторического «паззла». Затем каждую кость упаковали в отдельный пакет, чтобы снизить трение при перевозке.

3_новый размер.JPG

12_новый размер.JPG

13_новый размер.JPG

- У нас случилось грандиозное событие!!! Мы нашли почти полный скелет морской коровы Стеллера - ископаемого, исчезнувшего почти 250 лет назад! Это фантастическая новость, как для заповедника, так и для мировой науки в целом. Судя по размерам, и небольшой минерализации костей, это была молодая особь, вероятно, одна из последних живших.  

Найденный скелет состоит из 45 позвонков, 27 ребер, левых лопатки, костей плеча и предплечья, нескольких костей запястья. В обнаруженном скелете отсутствовал череп, шейный отдел позвоночника, 1-2 грудных позвонка, несколько хвостовых позвонков, правая часть пояса грудных конечностей, а также кости пясти и фаланги пальцев левой конечности. Общая длина скелета составила 5,2 метра. Учитывая длину отсутствующих частей позвоночного столба и головы, можно предположить, что общая длина животного была около 6 метров – поделился зам.директора по научным вопросам заповедника «Командорский» Евгений Мамаев.

При такой длине весить морская корова могла до 10 тонн. Из водных млекопитающих крупнее неё только кит. Ранее части скелетов стеллеровой коровы находили на Алеутских островах, на Камчатке и в Калифорнии. Командорские острова стали последним местом обитания этого морского млекопитающего на планете. Популяцию местные охотники выбили всего за 27 лет спустя открытия вида. Подчистую.  

11_новый размер.JPG

Справка: Морская корова, или стеллерова корова, или капустница (лат. Hydrodamalis gigas - гигантская морская корова) — истребленное человеком млекопитающее отряда сирен. Открыта в 1741 году экспедицией Витуса Беринга. Название получила в честь натуралиста Георга Стеллера, врача экспедиции, на описаниях которого базируется значительная часть информации об этом животном.

Стеллерова корова обитала только у побережья Командорских островов, хотя современные палеонтологические данные говорят, что в доисторическую эпоху её ареал был заметно шире. Поведение животного отличалось медлительностью, апатичностью и отсутствием страха перед человеком. Она вела прибрежный образ жизни, питалась исключительно морскими водорослями, алярией и ламинарией. Эти факторы, облегчавшие добычу коров людьми, способствовали её быстрому исчезновению. Сыграла роль и невысокая общая численность коров на момент открытия — около двух тысяч. Последовавшее вслед за открытием хищническое истребление ради вкусного мяса привело к полному исчезновению этого животного к 1768 году. Стеллер писал, что порой миролюбивых и не пугливых морских коров добывали просто из азарта. На них охотились с помощью гарпуна, но вытащить на берег удавалось лишь каждую пятую – остальные погибали от ран в воде.

Есть спорное мнение, что капустница представляла тупиковую ветвь эволюции и со временем пополнила бы коллекцию вымерших видов и без участия человека.

Sea-Cow-Bering-Island-Final-small.jpeg

Pallas_Sea_Cow.jpg

Рис.: Самка морской коровы, описанной и измеренной Г. Стеллером. Считается единственным изображением коровы, сделанным с натуры.

Находка практически целого скелета морской коровы Стеллера в наши дни – большое событие. Последний раз останки капустницы обнаружили здесь 30 лет назад. Они хранятся в музее с.Никольское на острове Беринга. В музеях мира представлены, в большинстве, сборные скелеты. Полных, то есть принадлежавших одному животному, насчитывается около 20.

- Вообще это такое место, где зимой без костей никогда не уедешь. Местные жители собирают их на поделки или на продажу. У нас в поселке два мастера. Ребро стеллеровой коровы в пределах 10 тысяч стоит в Петропавловске-Камчатском. Это считается контрабандой. Если, например, про бивни мамонта всё узаконено, выдаются лицензии, ты можешь кости официально добывать, то про корову нет никаких законов, и нам непонятно, как делать это легально - поделилась с East Russia житель с.Никольское.      

Вероятно, образцы скелета стеллеровой коровы будут отправлены на экспертизу в Москву. А в следующем году на выставке в визит-центре заповедника она будет главный экспонат, рассказывающий о природе Командорских островов, в том числе той, которую мы потеряли.

*Остров Беринга — крупнейший остров в составе Командорских островов. Расположен к востоку от полуострова Камчатка, от которого отделён Камчатским проливом, соединяющим Берингово море и Тихий океан. Административно остров входит в состав Алеутского района Камчатского края. Остров был открыт экспедицией Витуса Беринга в 1741 году, здесь находится могила мореплавателя.

Фото: Юлия Пулит, Марина Шитова, Евгений Мамаев.