Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Shine catchers

Where the sky blazes in the Far East and how to take good pictures - pro tips

Shine catchers
Photo: Ruslan Akhmetsafin
WITH PLASMA LED

A little about the physics of the phenomenon. Periodically flares occur on the Sun, after which to the Earth (including the Far East) with a speed of 300-1200 km / s rushing streams of charged particles - the solar wind. Having flown over the 1-3 day, the rarefied plasma — protons and electrons of hydrogen and helium — meets the shield of the Earth’s magnetic field. A magnetic storm is being played.

At an altitude of 80-500 km, excited molecules and atoms of oxygen and nitrogen, that is, our atmosphere, begin to glow. In a collision, the nitrogen molecule shines red — if left in its original state, blue and purple — if it loses atoms. Oxygen molecules almost always stay with you, from them there is a red-green fire in the sky. The power of auroras is usually denoted by K and Kp-index, where 1 - everything is calm, 9 - electronics fails. It makes sense to pack a backpack to the north with K-index values ​​4-5 and higher. Among the auroras there are glimpses, spots, flashes, arcs, crowns, etc.

Aurora-oval-from-space-artist-NASA.jpg
Photo: FieldsRadiance from space. NASA

The magnetic poles of the Earth are geographically separated by ~ 12 °, therefore auroras are visible in latitudes 67 — 70 °. With powerful explosions in the sun (approximately every 11 years - the so-called Schwabe cycle), the solar wind squeezes the Earth’s magnetosphere so that magnetic lines of force in the ovals of auroras are shifted to the equator. Then shine "toured" to more southern latitudes.

Abroad, the Aurora is familiar in Finland, Sweden, Canada, Norway, Iceland, Alaska and Scotland. The most "brilliant" in Russia - the Murmansk region, the Republic of Karelia and Komi, the Arkhangelsk region, Taimyr, Krasnoyarsk Territory. In the Far East, “Fox lights” are regularly seen in the north of Yakutia, in the Chukotka Autonomous Region, and rarely in the Magadan Region.

YAKUTIA: CATCH IT OPEN DIAPHRAGM

This is how the sky looks from the bottom of the Komsomol diamond career, Aikhal settlement, Yakutia.jpg
Photo: Pthe aurora from the bottom of the Komsomolsky diamond quarry in the village of Aikhal (the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), Mirna area)

The author of this photo Ruslan Akhmetsafin works as a power engineer in the local mining and industrial complex (ALROSA). He says that in summer the white nights hide the radiance in their edges, but in the autumn and winter you can see the “sky in diamonds” all the time. Only getting beautiful photos is not cheap: “We have a shine to catch - it's ass to freeze, to freeze our nose. In winter -40 - -45 ° - standard, and to -50WITH. The sun practically does not come out in winter, it rolls somewhere on the horizon. With a strong flash, it can shine at seven in the evening, but the brightest is usually from midnight to two at night. Many do not want to go beyond the usual, go to bed and everything. And at least I get up for work at 6 in the morning, but what should I do? Half-life chasing this miracle. ”

“It happens, a super forecast is given, and the sky is drawn out, then you tear your hair!” - continues Ruslan. This is a key point. Even with a powerful flash in the sun, the weather should be cloudless, or waste time. "The predictions of magnetic activity, I look at the site spaceweather.com. I am waiting for it to reach our 66-th latitude, then I check the usual, “human” weather. Two weeks ago there was a good glow over the village. The biggest K-index I caught was 8-9, when there was a red aurora, nitrogen was shining. In addition to our Aikhal in Yakutia, you can take pictures of the lights on the Olenyok, Anabar, Tiksi rivers, there is even more reach, ”he adds.

ruslan_akhmetsafin9.jpg
Photo: Ruslan Akhmetsafin, Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)

The best attribute for hunting for polar heat birds is a reflex camera, preferably with a full-sized, uncrowded matrix, and a tripod. First of all, you need to go into manual focus mode and take the value to infinity. “In addition, I advise beginners to take photos with a minimum shutter speed, so that the second is literally! The more exposure, the more everything will be greased in the frame in an incomprehensible spot. Photographing auroras is necessary at high ISO sensitivities; I usually use 800-1000 if the moon lights the landscape. And when it is darker on the street, I expose 2000 ISO. I open the diaphragm to the full, I have a maximum speed 2,8. Well, the exposition, if it is already completely dark on the street, you can put it in plus, so that everything that should appear and the “sole” light up a little bit, ”the Yakut photographer explains.

“ON CHUKOTKA DO NOT MAKE A DREAM FROM THE LIGHT”

“In the evening, the sky above the ravine streaked the northern lights of such beauty that I had never seen before, although I lived 25 years in Chukotka! Pink ribbons ran through the entire sky from horizon to horizon with incredible speed. The radiance moved, disappeared, and the next second exploded in a completely different place with emerald light, on the tips of which blue and purple fragments shimmered. Everything was turning green in order to plunge into total darkness in anticipation of a new flash, ”recalls his journey to the Maly Anuy river in Chukotka Timur Akhmetov.

On the river Small Anyuy Timur Akhmetov.jpg
Photo: Timur Akhmetov, PrJSC

An ecologist at the Kupol gold mine (Kinross Gold) is the author of cool images of auroras, which, however, I never watched on purpose. “When you live in Chukotka, you do not make a dream out of the radiance. We just need to raise our heads! To find out the forecast, I’ll score a kp-index in a search engine and watch the result. In Chukotka, auroras are mostly green, multicolored are rare. The maximum index I caught is 6. For a successful photo, everything is standard: a tripod, a wide-angle, and, preferably, the camera is not noisy at high ISO. Exposure at will: if you want to smudge everything - put 30 seconds. Want clear lines and a comb - put 5 seconds, no more. It is necessary to turn up the ISO and open the diaphragm, ”advises Timur Akhmetov.

Mine Dome Timur Akhmetov.jpg
Photo: Polar lights over the mine "Dome", PJSC. Timur Akhmetov

According to the international scale, the luminous intensity is assigned from
I to IV points. The weakest reminds the Milky Way, the most powerful shines like a full moon in clear weather, and surprises with color transitions. With the IV-point shining video looks more advantageous than the photo.

MAGADAN: WE WOULD LOVE THEM!

magadan.jpg
Photo: Sergey Ogneznev, Magadan Region

On the Kolyma auroras rarely, but still happen. For example, in August 2015, photographer Sergey Ogneznyov and his family went to shoot the northern hemisphere constellation Andromeda, and unexpectedly captured the northern guest. “The glow for the Magadan region is not such a rarity, but since the clouds are constantly hanging over the Kolyma, it’s not very often that you see the glow,” the picture's author commented.
This is not the only message about auroras at lower latitudes. During solar activity, “plump” auroral ovals capture 20 — 25 ° to the south or north of their usual boundaries.

DO NOT MISS THE FLASH

Space weather is observed by several observatories around the world, including Geophysical Institute at the University of Alaska (USA), University of Lancaster, (Great Britain), Space Weather Forecast Center, (USA), as well as the Institute of Terrestrial Magnetism, Ionosphere and Radio Wave Propagation of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia). You can monitor solar activity using the mobile applications My Aurora Forecast, Aurora Notifier, etc.

Having decided on the forecasts and the region, it is important to find the “auditorium” for viewing atmospheric improvisations. It can be an open field, a frozen lake, a river or a hill. It’s better to look after the place and “aim” at the scenery while it’s light. Photographers should avoid the illumination of large cities, however, in the sparsely populated north of the Far East there are no problems with this, you do not need to move far from housing. This direction of tourism, set in a big way in Europe, where hotels with transparent walls are being built to observe the Aurora, is still wild with us.

Also experienced “catchers of aurora” recommend to be on the car, grab warm clothes, a thermos with hot tea, snacks and spare batteries for the equipment, sometimes they wait for a beautiful frame for hours. In turn, the started whistle dance can last from a few minutes and all the way to your dismissal at work - if only you, as the heroes of this material, are not lucky to live and work under the blazing sky.

firebird.jpg
Photo: Ruslan Akhmetsafin, Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Ловцы сияний

Где на Дальнем Востоке полыхает небо и как сделать хорошие снимки – советы профи

Ловцы сияний
Фото: Руслан Ахметсафин
С ПЛАЗМЕННЫМ ПРИВЕТОМ

Немного о физике явления. Периодически на Солнце происходят вспышки, после которых к Земле (в том числе, к дальневосточной) со скоростью 300-1200 км/с мчатся потоки заряженных частиц - солнечный ветер. Долетая за 1-3 суток, разреженная плазма - протоны и электроны водорода и гелия - встречает щит магнитного поля Земли. Разыгрывается магнитная буря. 

На высоте 80-500 км возбужденные молекулы и атомы кислорода и азота, то есть наша атмосфера, начинают светиться. При столкновении молекула азота сияет красным – если осталась в исходном состоянии, синим и фиолетовым – если теряет атомы. Молекулы кислорода почти всегда остаются при своем, от них в небе красно-зеленый пожар. Силу сияний принято обозначать K и Кр-индексом, где 1 – всё спокойно, 9 - электроника выходит из строя. Собирать рюкзак на север есть смысл при значениях К-индекса 4-5 и выше. Среди сияний различают проблески, пятна, всполохи, дуги, короны и т.д.

Aurora-oval-from-space-artist-NASA.jpg
Фото: Полярное сияние из космоса. NASA

Магнитные полюса Земли отстоят от географических на ~12°, потому полярные сияния видны в широтах 67—70°. При мощных взрывах на солнце (примерно каждые 11 лет – так называемый цикл Швабе) солнечный ветер так стискивает магнитосферу Земли, что магнитные силовые линии в овалах полярных сияний смещаются к экватору. Тогда сияние «гастролирует» к более южным широтам.

За границей аврора привычна в Финляндии, Швеции, Канаде, Норвегии, Исландии, Аляске и Шотландии. Самые «сиятельные» в России - Мурманская область, Республики Карелия и Коми, Архангельская область, Таймыр, Красноярский край. На Дальнем Востоке «лисьи огни» регулярно видят на севере Якутии, в Чукотском АО, и редко - в Магаданской области.

ЯКУТИЯ: ЛОВИ ЕГО ОТКРЫТОЙ ДИАФРАГМОЙ
 
так выглядит небо со дна алмазного карьера комсомольский, посёлка Айхал, Якутия.jpg
Фото: Полярное сияние со дна алмазного карьера «Комсомольский» в посёлке Айхал (республика Саха (Якутия), Мирненский район) 

Автор этой фотографии Руслан Ахметсафин работает энергетиком в местном ГОК’е (АЛРОСА). Говорит, летом сияния в их краях скрывают белые ночи, зато осенью и зимой видеть «небо в алмазах» можно постоянно. Только достаются красивые фотографии недешево: «У нас сияние ловить - это попу морозить, нос морозить. Зимой -40 - -45° - стандарт, и до -50°С. Солнце зимой практически не выходит, по горизонту где-то там катится. При сильной вспышке может сиять и в семь вечера, но самое яркое обычно с полуночи до двух ночи. Многие не хотят выходить за рамки привычного, ложатся спать и всё. А мне хоть в 6 утра вставать на работу, а что делать? Пол-жизни гоняюсь за этим чудом».

«Бывает, супер-прогноз дают, а небо затянуло, тогда волосы на себе рвешь!» - продолжает Руслан. Это – ключевой момент. Даже при мощной вспышке на Солнце погода должна быть безоблачной, или зря потратите время. «Прогнозы магнитной активности я смотрю на сайте spaceweather.com. Жду, когда долетит до нашей 66-ой широты, потом проверяю обычную, «человеческую» погоду. Две недели назад было хорошее сияние над поселочком. Самый большой К-индекс я ловил 8-9, когда была красная аврора, сиял азот. Кроме нашего Айхала в Якутии можно поснимать сияния на речках Оленёк, Анабар, Тикси, там зона досягаемости даже больше», - добавляет он.

ruslan_akhmetsafin9.jpg
Фото: Руслан Ахметсафин, республика Саха (Якутия)

Лучший атрибут для охоты за полярными жар-птицами – зеркальный фотоаппарат, желательно с полноразмерной, не кропнутой матрицей, и штатив. Первым делом нужно перейти в режим ручного фокуса и увести значение в бесконечность. «Кроме того, новичкам я советую фотографировать при минимальной выдержке, чтобы секунда буквально! Чем больше выдержка, тем больше всё смажется в кадре в непонятное пятно. Фотографировать сияния надо на высоких светочувствительностях ISO, я обычно использую 800-1000, если луна пейзаж освещает. А когда темнее на улице, от 2000 ISO выставляю. Диафрагму открываю на полную, у меня 2,8 максималка. Ну и экспозицию, если уже совсем темно на улице можно в плюс поставить, чтобы проявилось все, что должно проявиться и «подошву» чуть-чуть засвечивало», - объясняет якутский фотограф.

«НА ЧУКОТКЕ НЕ ДЕЛАЕШЬ ИЗ СИЯНИЯ МЕЧТУ»   

«Вечером небо над балком располосовало северное сияние такой красоты, которой я до сих пор никогда не видел, хотя прожил на Чукотке 25 лет! Розовые ленты пробегали через весь небосвод от горизонта до горизонта с немыслимой скоростью. Сияние перемещалось, исчезало, и в следующую секунду взрывалось совершенно в другом месте изумрудным светом, на кончиках которого переливались синие и пурпурные осколки. Всё вокруг становилось зелёным, чтобы затем погрузиться в кромешную тьму в предвкушении новой вспышки» - вспоминает о своем путешествии на реку Малый Анюй на Чукотке Тимур Ахметов

На реке Малый Анюй Тимур Ахметов.jpg
Фото: Тимур Ахметов, ЧАО

Эколог на золотодобывающем руднике «Купол» (компания Kinross Gold) – автор крутых снимков полярных сияний, за которыми, впрочем, никогда не следил специально. «Когда ты на Чукотке живёшь, не делаешь из сияния мечту. Нам достаточно просто поднять голову! Чтобы узнать прогноз, забиваю в поисковике kp-индекс и смотрю результат. На Чукотке сияния в основном зеленые, многоцветные бывают редко. Максимальный индекс, который я ловил - 6. Для успешного фото всё стандартно: штатив, широкоугольник, и, желательно, чтобы фотоаппарат не шумел на высоких ISO. Выдержка по желанию: хотите всё размазать — ставьте 30 секунд. Хотите чёткие линии и гребёнку - ставьте 5 секунд, не больше. Надо задирать ISO и открывать диафрагму», - советует Тимур Ахметов.

Рудник Купол Тимур Ахметов.jpg
Фото: Полярное сияние над рудником "Купол", ЧАО. Тимур Ахметов

По международной шкале силе свечения присваивается от
I до IV баллов. Самое слабое напоминает Млечный путь, мощнейшее светит как полная Луна в ясную погоду, и удивляет цветовыми переходами. При IV-балльном сиянии видео смотрится выигрышнее, чем фото.

МАГАДАН: НАМ БЫ ПОМЕНЬШЕ ТУЧ!

магадан.jpg
Фото: Сергей Огнезнев, Магаданская область

На Колыме полярные сияния редко, но всё же случаются. Например, в августе 2015 года фотограф Сергей Огнезнев с семьей отправился снимать созвездие северного полушария Андромеду, и неожиданно запечатлел северного гостя. «Сияние для Магаданской области это не такая уж и редкость, но поскольку над Колымой постоянно нависают тучи, разглядеть сияние получается очень не часто», - прокомментировал автор снимка.
Это не единственное сообщение о сияниях в более низких широтах. Во время солнечной активности «располневшие» авроральные овалы захватывают 20—25° южнее или севернее своих обычных границ.

НЕ ПРОПУСТИТЬ ВСПЫШКУ

За космической погодой наблюдают несколько обсерваторий по всему миру, среди которых Геофизический институт при Университете Аляски (США), Университет Ланкастера, (Великобритания), Центр прогнозов космической погоды, (США), а также Институт земного магнетизма, ионосферы и распространения радиоволн РАН (Россия). Следить за солнечной активностью можно с помощью мобильных приложений My Aurora Forecast, Aurora Notifier и др.

Определившись с прогнозами и регионом, важно найти и «зрительный зал» для просмотра атмосферных импровизаций. Это могут быть открытое поле, замерзшее озеро, река или возвышенность. Присмотреть место и «пристреляться» к декорациям лучше, пока светло. Фотографам стоит избегать засветки больших городов, впрочем, на малонаселенном севере Дальнего Востока с этим проблем нет, отъезжать далеко от жилья не нужно. Это направление туризма, поставленное на широкую ногу в Европе, где строят отели с прозрачными стенами для наблюдения за авророй, у нас пока остается диким.   

Также бывалые «ловцы сияний» рекомендуют быть на авто, захватить теплую одежду, термос с горячим чаем, перекус и запасные аккумуляторы для техники, - красивого кадра порой ждут часами. В свою очередь, начавшаяся свистопляска может продолжаться от нескольких минут и вплоть.. до вашего увольнения на работе – если только вам, как героям этого материала, не повезло жить и трудиться под пылающим небом.
  
жар-птица.jpg
Фото: Руслан Ахметсафин, республика Саха (Якутия)
Что на Дальнем Востоке произошло за неделю и кому это выгодно?
Эксклюзивная аналитика от EastRussia – каждый вторник в вашем почтовом ящике