Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Russia and Japan: the dialogue continues

The outcome of the meeting between Putin and Abe is an agreement on further negotiations

Despite the significant cooling of Russia's relations with the US and other leading Western countries that imposed sanctions on Russia over the Crimea and Ukraine, the year 2016 and the beginning of this year were marked by a significant rapprochement between Russia and Japan in the political and economic fields. This is evidenced by intensive contacts between the two countries at various levels and in various fields, including bilateral summits. At the same time, one can not but admit that the main "engine" of these contacts is personally the Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, who visited Russia last year two times in a row - Sochi in May and Vladivostok in September. Apparently, in resolving the territorial problem in Russian-Japanese relations, Abe makes a personal bet on President Vladimir Putin.

Russia and Japan: the dialogue continues
Photo: shutterstock.com

Valery Kistanov

Head of the Center for Japanese Studies of the Institute of Far Eastern Studies

In total, four Russian-Japanese summits were held in 2016, including the rendezvous of President Vladimir Putin and Shinzo Abe on the margins of the APEC summit in Lima, the capital of Peru, as well as the long-awaited official visit of President Putin to Japan 15-16 December. 27-28 April this year, a regular visit of Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe to Moscow. The April summit was the 17 meeting of Abe and Putin (including three of their meetings during Abe's first prime time in 2006-2007). Traditionally, the focus of the negotiations of the two leaders was bilateral economic and political relations, as well as current international problems.

The economic agenda of the April talks was focused on the implementation of the eight-point economic cooperation plan proposed to Abe Putin in May of 2016 in Sochi. He received a clearance in December in Tokyo in the form of approximately 80 public and private documents for a total of approximately 2,5 billion dollars. In addition, the leaders discussed in Moscow joint economic activities in the southern Kuriles, which Japan claims, calling them its northern territories . The agreement on it was also reached in Tokyo.

However, the economic results of the just-held talks between Putin and Abe were very modest. During the visit, the Russian and Japanese representatives signed a set of new cooperation agreements in the field of agriculture, urban infrastructure, medicine, training and energy from 29. As in the case of the 80-th documents signed during the previous summit, a large proportion of them consisted of memorandums of understanding, agreements of intent and other little binding agreements. In addition, First Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov and Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan Hiroshige Sako (also known as the Minister of Economic Cooperation with Russia) agreed on a joint statement on the progress of cooperation in implementing the plan from the 8 points proposed in the past year by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

As for the joint economic activity in the four South Kuril Islands, then, as the voice of the Japanese business circles, the Nikkei newspaper, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and Russian President Vladimir Putin showed a spirit of cooperation at their meeting in Moscow, taking small steps towards resolving Long-standing territorial dispute. The two leaders agreed to send the Japanese research team to the disputed islands at the southern tip of the Kuril ridge no later than May to explore possible joint economic projects.

A mixed delegation, consisting of representatives of the business world and relevant government agencies of Japan, will be the first of its kind in the entire post-war period. The result of this visit should be a set of concrete projects that Russia and Japan will jointly implement in the Southern Kuriles. In parallel, work will be conducted to develop a legal framework for joint economic activities. During the talks in Moscow Putin and Abe agreed to work together on fish breeding and ecotourism on the islands. It was also decided to organize charter flights from the Japanese island of Hokkaido to the South Kuril Islands of Kunashir and Iturup this summer to facilitate visits to the graves of their ancestors by the former Japanese inhabitants of these islands.

At a joint press conference, the Japanese prime minister announced his desire to significantly expand joint economic activity. He suggested that efforts on this front would lead to progress in the territorial dispute and eventually result in a long-awaited peace treaty. The Russian president, for his part, called Japan an exceptionally important partner with great potential.

In particular, he stressed that he spoke with Abe about the plans for the joint construction of the Sakhalin-Hokkaido gas pipeline, the creation of a marine energy bridge for the supply of electricity from Russia to Japan, and cooperation in the field of renewable and unconventional energy sources. The implementation of these promising projects, according to Putin, will help provide Japanese consumers with additional energy resources on the shortest routes and at affordable prices.

As the same Nikkei writes, the official in the Japanese government expressed relief in connection with specific agreements reached at the meeting. According to the newspaper from a source close to the Prime Minister, Abe recently expressed his impatience for the hitch in the negotiations, which was marked since the previous summit in December. But further navigation, the newspaper notes, will not be smooth. Russia plans to hold presidential elections in March next year, and some forces in the country refuse to make any compromise on disputed islands. Further friction between Moscow and Washington over North Korea and Syria, according to the newspaper, can also put Japan in a difficult situation.

Indeed, along with bilateral relations, Putin and Abe paid much attention to the North Korean problem. As the largest Japanese newspaper Yomiuri Shimbun points out, the bilateral meeting between Abe and Putin took place in a tense situation in North Korea and Syria, as well as in the growing confrontation between the United States and Russia. The combination of conflicts in the international community casts a shadow over Russian-Japanese relations. According to Reuters, Putin and Abe called on North Korea and other countries to avoid actions or rhetoric that could increase tension around Pyongyang's nuclear program. Both leaders expressed their desire to see the resumption of the six-party talks with North Korea. And the Asahi Sibun newspaper directly links the situation on the Korean peninsula with the possibility of solving the territorial problem between Japan and Russia. The publication writes: "Peace and stability in Northeast Asia are also necessary to resolve a long-standing territorial dispute over the islands. The issue that can have a serious impact on bilateral relations is how Japan and Russia can work together in response to the tense situation around North Korea. Both countries need to work out an effective formula for bilateral cooperation for regional stability as a first step towards concluding a peace treaty. "

Thus, the difficult problems of bilateral relations between Russia and Japan, as well as the escalating situation in East Asia and other regions of the world, make further cooperation between Russia and Japan in various fields imperative. On this, James Brown, a professor at Temple University in Tokyo and an expert on Russian-Japanese relations, said in the Japan Times newspaper that “courting Putin” despite the displeasure of Washington and other Western capitals, Japan’s Prime Minister Shinzo Abe not only aims to get controversial islands, but also has certain strategic intentions. They are to help, with the help of Russia, to neutralize as far as possible the two main, according to Japanese politicians and experts, threats to Japan’s security today, from China’s increasing military power and naval activity, and improving North Korea’s nuclear missile potential.

On the occasion of the April summit, the expert writes: "The last summit in Moscow ended with Abe expressing his enthusiasm for seeing Putin again at the G-20 meeting in Hamburg in July. He also confirmed his promise to go to Vladivostok in September. The upcoming two meetings with Putin are unlikely to lead to a major breakthrough on the territorial issue, giving rise to even more doubts about Abe's seemingly strange obsession with the Russian leader. Nevertheless, the unilateral male friendship of Abe with Putin, generated by the long-term plan for the islands and strategic calculations, will apparently continue. "

At the same time, it should be noted that, as it was throughout the postwar period, Tokyo is forced to coordinate its policy towards Moscow with its main and only military-political ally, the United States. So, according to the Asahi Shimbun newspaper, 1 May, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe had an 30-minute telephone conversation with US President Donald Trump. The details of the conversation were not disclosed, but according to the newspaper, in the center of the dialogue were the results of Abe's visit to Moscow in April, as well as the coordination of the policies of the two allies with regard to the DPRK. As the newspaper writes, it's no secret that Abe and Trump also talked on the phone before the trip of the Japanese prime minister to Moscow.

In short, from the change of presidents in the United States, Uncle Sam's shadow over Russian-Japanese relations does not change.
September 30: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Россия и Япония: диалог продолжается

Итог встречи Путина и Абэ — договоренность о дальнейших переговорах

Несмотря на существенное охлаждение отношений России с США и другими ведущими государствами Запада, наложившими санкции на Россию по поводу Крыма и Украины, 2016 год и начало нынешнего года ознаменовались заметным сближением России и Японии в политической и экономической областях. Свидетельством тому служат интенсивные контакты между двумя странами на разных уровнях и в различных областях, включая двусторонние саммиты. При этом нельзя не признать, что главным «мотором» этих контактов является лично премьер-министр Японии Синдзо Абэ, посетивший Россию в прошлом году два раза подряд – Сочи в мае и Владивосток в сентябре. Как очевидно, в решении территориальной проблемы в российско-японских отношениях Абэ делает персональную ставку на президента РФ Владимира Путина.

Россия и Япония: диалог продолжается
Фото: shutterstock.com

Всего в 2016 году были проведены  четыре  российско-японские встречи на высшем уровне, включая рандеву президента Владимира Путина и Синдзо Абэ на полях саммита АТЭС в столице Перу Лиме ноябре, а также   долгожданный официальный визит президента Путина в Японию 15-16 декабря. 27-28 апреля этого года состоялся очередной  визит премьер-министра Японии Синдзо Абэ в Москву. Апрельский саммит явился 17-й по счету встречей Абэ и Путина (включая три их встречи  во время первого премьерского срока  Абэ в 2006-2007 годах). Традиционно в центре внимания на переговорах двух лидеров были двусторонние экономические  и политические отношения, а также актуальные международные проблемы.

Экономическая повестка апрельских переговоров была сфокусирована на реализации плана хозяйственного сотрудничества из восьми пунктов, предложенного Абэ Путину в мае 2016 года в Сочи. Он получил оформление в декабре в Токио  в виде примерно 80 документов государственного и частного характера на общую сумму приблизительно в 2,5 млрд. долл.  Кроме того,  лидеры  обсудили в Москве совместную экономическую деятельность на южных Курилах, на которые претендует Япония, называя их своими северными территориями.  Договоренность о ней была достигнута также в Токио.

Однако хозяйственные  итоги только что прошедших переговоров Путина и Абэ оказались весьма скромные. Во время визита российские и японские представители подписали  набор из 29 новых соглашений о сотрудничестве в области сельского хозяйства, городской инфраструктуры, медицины, подготовки кадров и энергетики. Как и в случае  с 80-ю документами, подписанными в ходе предыдущего саммита, из них значительную долю составили меморандумы о взаимопонимании, соглашения о намерениях и другие мало к чему обязывающие договоренности. Кроме того,  первый вице-премьер РФ Игорь Шувалов и министр экономики, торговли и промышленности Японии Хиросигэ Сэко (он же по совместительству, министр по экономическому сотрудничеству с Россией)   согласовали совместное заявление о ходе сотрудничества  в деле реализации плана из 8 пунктов, предложенного в прошлом году премьер-министром Синдзо Абэ.

Что касается совместной хозяйственной деятельности на четырех Южно-Курильских островах, то, как отмечает рупор  японских деловых кругов, газета Nikkei, премьер-министр Японии Синдзо Абэ и президент России Владимир Путин проявили дух сотрудничества на их встрече в Москве, сделав  небольшие шаги в направлении решения давнего территориального спора. Два лидера договорились направить японскую исследовательскую группу на спорные острова на южной оконечности Курильской гряды не позже мая для изучения возможных совместных экономических проектов.

Смешанная делегация, состоящая из представителей делового мира и соответствующих правительственных учреждений Японии, явится первой в своем  роде за весь послевоенных период. Результатом этого визита должен стать набор конкретных  проектов, которые будут совместно осуществлять на южных Курилах Россия и Япония. Параллельно будет  вестись работа по выработке правовой базы для осуществления совместной хозяйственной деятельности. В ходе переговоров в Москве Путин и Абэ согласились вместе работать над разведением рыбы и экотуризмом на островах. Было также решено организовать этим летом чартерные авиарейсы с японского острова Хоккайдо на Южно-Курильские острова Кунашир и Итуруп с целью облегчения посещения могил своих предков бывшими японскими жителями этих островов.

На совместной пресс-конференции японский премьер заявил о своем желании значительно расширить совместную экономическую деятельность. Он высказал предположение, что усилия на этом фронте приведут к прогрессу в территориальном споре и в итоге выльются в долгожданный мирный договор. Российский президент, со своей стороны, назвал Японию исключительно важным партнером с огромным потенциалом.

Он, в частности, подчеркнул, что говорил с Абэ о планах совместного возведения газопровода «Сахалин – Хоккайдо», создания морского энергомоста для поставок электричества из России в Японию, кооперации в области возобновляемых и нетрадиционных источников энергии. Реализация этих перспективных проектов, по мнению Путина, поможет обеспечить японских потребителей дополнительными энергоресурсами по кратчайшим маршрутам и по доступным ценам.

Как пишет  та же Nikkei, официальное лицо в правительстве Японии высказало облегчение  в связи конкретными соглашениями, достигнутыми на встрече. По информации газеты из источника, близкого к премьер-министру, Абэ последнее время неоднократно выражал нетерпение по поводу заминки в переговорах, отмечавшейся с момента предыдущего саммита в декабре. Но дальнейшее плавание, отмечает газета, не будет гладким. Россия планирует проводить президентские выборы в марте следующего года, и некоторые силы  в стране отказываются идти на какой-либо компромисс по спорным  островам. Дальнейшие трения между Москвой и Вашингтоном по поводу Северной Кореи и Сирии, по мнению газеты, также  могу поставить Японию в трудное положение.

Действительно, наряду с двусторонними отношениями Путин и Абэ уделили большое внимание северокорейской проблеме. Как отмечает крупнейшая японская газета «Йомиури симбун», двустороння встреча Абэ и Путина проходила в условиях напряженной ситуации в Северной Корее и Сирии, а также усиления конфронтации между США и Россией. Сочетание конфликтов в международном сообществе отбрасывает тень на российско-японские отношения. По сообщению агентства Рейтер, Путин и Абэ призвали Северную Корею и другие страны избегать действий или риторики, которые могли бы усилить напряженность вокруг ядерной программы Пхеньяна.  Оба лидера выразили желание увидеть возобновление  шестисторонних переговоров с участием Северной Кореи. А газета «Асахи сибун» напрямую увязывает ситуацию на Корейском полуострове с возможностью решения территориальной проблемы  между Японией и Россией. Издание пишет: «Мир и стабильность в Северо-Восточной Азии также необходимы  для решения давнего территориального спора по поводу островов. Вопрос, который может оказать серьезное влияние на двусторонние связи, заключается в том, как Япония и Россия могут работать вместе в ответ  на напряженную ситуацию вокруг Северной Кореи. Обоим странам нужно выработать эффективную формулу двустороннего сотрудничества в целях региональной стабильности в качестве первого шага в направлении заключении мирного договора».

Таким образом,  непростые проблемы двусторонних отношений России и Японии, а также обостряющаяся обстановка в Восточной Азии и других регионах мира  делают императивом дальнейшее сотрудничество России и Японии в различных областях. На этот счет  Джеймс Браун, профессор университета Темпл в Токио и специалист по российско-японским отношениям, отмечает в газете Japan Times, что «обхаживая Путина» вопреки недовольству Вашингтона и других столиц западных государств, премьер-министр Японии Синдзо Абэ не только преследует цель получить спорные острова, но и имеет определенные стратегические замыслы. Они заключаются в том, чтобы с помощью России  по возможности  нейтрализовать две главные, по мнению японских политиков и экспертов,  на сегодняшний день угрозы безопасности Японии – со стороны наращивающего военную мощь и морскую активность Китая, а также совершенствующей свой ракетно-ядерный потенциал Северной Кореи.

По поводу апрельской встречи на высшем уровне эксперт, в частности, пишет: «Последний саммит в Москве закончился тем, что Абэ выразил энтузиазм по поводу того, что он снова увидит Путина на встрече G-20 в Гамбурге в июле. Он также подтвердил свое обещание съездить во Владивосток в сентябре. Предстоящие две встречи с Путиным вряд ли приведут к крупному прорыву по территориальной проблеме, породив еще больше сомнений относительно кажущейся странной зацикленности Абэ на российском лидере. Тем не менее, односторонняя мужская дружба Абэ с Путиным, порождаемая  долгосрочным планом относительно островов и стратегическими расчетами, видимо, будет продолжена».

Вместе с тем, следует отметить, что,  как это было на протяжении всего послевоенного времени, Токио вынужден согласовывать свою политику в отношении Москвы со своим главным и единственным военно-политическим союзником – Соединёнными Штатами.  Так, по сообщению газеты «Асахи симбун», 1 мая премьер-министр Синдзо Абэ имел 30-минутный телефонный разговор с президентом США Дональдом Трампом. Детали беседы не разглашаются, но по информации газеты, в центре диалога находились итоги визита Абэ в Москву в апреле, а также координация политики двух союзников в отношении КНДР. Как пишет издание, не секрет, что Абэ и Трамп также общались по телефону накануне поездки японского премьер-министра в Москву.

Словом,  от перемены президентов в США тень дяди Сэма над российско-японскими отношениями не меняется.