Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Russia and Japan: relations between countries have reached the trajectory of sustainable development

Russia and Japan: relations between countries have reached the trajectory of sustainable development

Alexander Panov, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Doctor of Political Sciences:
- The meeting of the Prime Minister of Japan and the President of Russia in Sochi was held in a very warm, friendly atmosphere. Vladimir Putin met Shinzo Abe on the threshold of his residence along with a dog, which was presented to him by residents of Akita Prefecture as a sign of gratitude for the assistance provided by Russia to Japan after the 2011 tragedy of the year.

The arrival of S. Abe in Sochi on the "Day of the Northern Territories" (February 7 - editor's note) did not affect the fruitful nature of the meeting. In Japan, it was also not perceived from an anti-Russian position: no one believed that S. Abe was going to Russia to demand the return of the “northern territories”. "Northern Territories Day" is held annually in Japan, and this time, as noted by the press, it passed more calmly than usual. Our embassy did not observe significant demonstrations, the ultra-right did not even use loudspeakers to announce their demands to return the "northern territories". The meeting dedicated to this day, at which S. Abe spoke, was also held in a calm, intimate atmosphere. There was no excitement two or three years ago.

All this testifies that relations between our countries have reached the trajectory of sustainable development. In his conversation with S. Abe V. Putin, first of all, he noted that he was satisfied with the dynamic development of bilateral relations in all spheres, first of all, within the framework of the political dialogue. After S. Abe was elected Prime Minister and V. Putin, the leaders met for the fifth time.

In addition, the dialogue has become more intense. Negotiations of deputy ministers, including on the conclusion of a peace treaty, are held regularly - on January 31, 2014, the third round of these talks took place in Tokyo.

A new dialogue has begun in the format "2 + 2", within the framework of which consultations are held between the Foreign and Defense Ministers. The first meeting was held at the suggestion of the Japanese side in November 2013 in Tokyo. Earlier, Japan held a dialogue in this format only with the allied states - the US and Australia.

V.Putin also noted the growth of trade turnover, which for 2013 year was 6% and already exceeded the mark of 30 billion dollars. Moreover, according to him, the positive movement is observed both from Russia and from Japan.

The parties understand that in bilateral relations, first of all, it is necessary to create a favorable situation, which will allow solving the most complicated issues. Vladimir Putin voiced this idea at a meeting with S. Abe. The latter, speaking in Japan on the Day of Northern Territories, noted that Japan's approach is to develop relations with Russia, which, ultimately, should lead to the solution of the problem of "northern territories" and the conclusion of a peace treaty.

At the meeting, a number of agreements were reached not only to continue the dialogue, but also to intensify it. In 2014, the leaders intend to meet at least two more times: S. Abe will arrive in Sochi for the G8 summit in June, and V. Putin agreed to make an official visit to Japan in October-November of this year. In addition, the Japanese Foreign Minister will arrive in Moscow in April; at the same time a meeting of the intergovernmental commission on economic issues will be held.

There are four main areas: energy, agriculture, medicine and ecology. All of them are related to the development of cooperation in the regions of Siberia and the Far East, in which Japan is strongly interested. Now we can say that relations between our countries are developing steadily, and this cannot but cause satisfaction.

In March, a large forum will take place in Tokyo, 2014, which will be attended by Russian economic ministers and business leaders. They will discuss, together with Japanese partners, specific issues of cooperation that were identified during S. Abe’s visit to Moscow in April 2013. Four main areas were highlighted: energy, agriculture, medicine and ecology. All of them are related to the development of cooperation in the regions of Siberia and the Far East, in which Japan is strongly interested. Now we can say that relations between our countries are developing steadily, and this cannot but cause satisfaction.

Completely interview Alexandra Panova “Nationalism in Japan - a Barrier to the Development of Relations with Russia?” Was published on the portal of the Russian Council on International Affairs.



May 18: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Россия и Япония: отношения между странами вышли на траекторию устойчивого развития

Россия и Япония: отношения между странами вышли на траекторию устойчивого развития

Александр Панов, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол, доктор политических наук:
- Встреча премьер-министра Японии и президента России в Сочи прошла в очень теплой, дружеской обстановке. Владимир Путин встретил Синдзо Абэ на пороге своей резиденции вместе с собакой, которую ему подарили жители префектуры Акита в знак благодарности за помощь, оказанную Россией Японии после трагедии 2011 года.

Прибытие С. Абэ в Сочи в «День северных территорий» (7 февраля – прим. ред.) никак не отразилось на плодотворном характере встречи. В Японии она также не была воспринята с антироссийских позиций: никто не считал, что С. Абэ едет в Россию требовать возвращения «северных территорий». «День северных территорий» проходит в Японии ежегодно, и в этот раз, как отмечала пресса, он прошел более спокойно, чем обычно. Наше посольство не отмечало значительных демонстраций, ультраправые даже не воспользовались громкоговорителями для оглашения своих требований вернуть «северные территории». Собрание, посвященное этому дню, на котором выступил С. Абэ, также прошло в спокойной, камерной обстановке. Ажиотажа двух-трехлетней давности не наблюдалось.

Все это свидетельствует о том, что отношения между нашими странами вышли на траекторию устойчивого развития. В беседе с С. Абэ В. Путин, прежде всего, отметил, что он удовлетворен динамичным развитием двусторонних отношений во всех сферах, в первую очередь, в рамках политического диалога. После избрания С. Абэ премьер-министром и В. Путина президентом лидеры встретились уже в пятый раз.

Кроме того, диалог стал более интенсивным. Переговоры заместителей министров, в том числе по вопросам заключения мирного договора, проводятся регулярно – 31 января 2014 года в Токио состоялся третий раунд этих переговоров.

Начался новый диалог в формате «2+2», в рамках которого проводятся консультации министров иностранных дел и обороны. Первая встреча состоялась по предложению японской стороны в ноябре 2013 года в Токио. Ранее Япония проводила диалог в таком формате только с союзными государствами – США и Австралией.

В. Путин также отметил рост торгового оборота, который за 2013 год составил 6% и уже превысил отметку в 30 млрд долл. Причем, по его словам, позитивное движение наблюдается как со стороны России, так и со стороны Японии.

Стороны понимают, что в двусторонних отношениях нужно, прежде всего, создавать благоприятную обстановку, что позволит решить самые сложные вопросы. В. Путин озвучил эту мысль на встрече с С. Абэ. Последний, выступая в Японии в «День северных территорий», отметил, что подход Японии заключается в развитии отношений с Россией, что, в конечном итоге, должно привести к решению проблемы «северных территорий» и к заключению мирного договора.

На встрече был достигнут ряд договоренностей не только о продолжении диалога, но и о его интенсификации. В 2014 году лидеры предполагают встретиться, по меньшей мере, еще два раза: С. Абэ приедет в Сочи на саммит «Группы восьми» в июне, а В. Путин согласился совершить официальный визит в Японию в октябре-ноябре этого года. Кроме того, министр иностранных дел Японии приедет в Москву в апреле; тогда же будет проведено заседание межправительственной комиссии по экономическим вопросам.

Выделены четыре основных направления: энергетика, сельское хозяйство, медицина и экология. Все они имеют отношение к развитию сотрудничества в регионах Сибири и Дальнего Востока, в чем Япония сильно заинтересована. Сейчас можно говорить о том, что отношения между нашими странами устойчиво развиваются, и это не может не вызывать удовлетворения.

В марте 2014 года в Токио пройдет большой форум, в котором примут участие российские министры, занимающиеся экономическими вопросами, и руководители крупного бизнеса. Они обсудят вместе с японскими партнерами конкретные вопросы сотрудничества, которые были определены во время визита С. Абэ в Москву в апреле 2013 г. Выделены четыре основных направления: энергетика, сельское хозяйство, медицина и экология. Все они имеют отношение к развитию сотрудничества в регионах Сибири и Дальнего Востока, в чем Япония сильно заинтересована. Сейчас можно говорить о том, что отношения между нашими странами устойчиво развиваются, и это не может не вызывать удовлетворения.

Полностью интервью Александра Панова «Национализм в Японии – преграда на пути развития отношений с Россией?» опубликовано на портале Российского совета по международным делам.