Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

TOP "Southern Kuriles" - as an apple of discord?

Japanese media outlets against the special economic zone on disputed islands

TOP "Southern Kuriles" - as an apple of discord?
Photo: shutterstock.com

Valery Kistanov

Head of the Center for Japanese Studies of the Institute of Far Eastern Studies
Special project TORA and Free Port

The 6nd Eastern Economic Forum will take place in Vladivostok on September 7-2. On September 7, it is planned to hold a meeting between Russian President Vladimir Putin and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe. This will be the second Russian-Japanese summit this year and the second meeting of the leaders of the two countries at this forum. One of the main topics of the informal "summit" will be the joint economic activities of Russia and Japan in the southern Kuriles, on which an agreement in principle was reached between Putin and Abe during the visit of the Russian president to Japan in December last year.

 As is known, these islands moved to the USSR following the Second World War, and Russia legitimately owns them as the legal successor of the Soviet Union. Japan, for its part, regards Russia's possession of islands as illegal and requires them to be returned, calling their northern territories. The said agreement is considered by the politicians of the two countries as an important step towards the solution of the territorial problem in the relations between Russia and Japan and, accordingly, the conclusion of a peace treaty between them.

During the current year, consultations were held between the two countries in various formats on the practical implementation of this agreement. Priority areas of bilateral cooperation were outlined, lists of specific projects were proposed from each side, and in the summer a delegation of Japanese officials and businessmen visited the southern Kuriles to familiarize themselves with the situation on the spot.

However, judging by everything, negotiations on joint management of Russia and Japan in the southern part of the Kuril Islands have been very difficult from the very beginning. The stumbling block was the question of what legislative base to implement this management. Russian officials have repeatedly stated that joint economic activities with Japan should be conducted in accordance with Russian law. However, this situation does not suit the Japanese side. According to her representatives, consent to this would mean Japan's recognition of Russian sovereignty over its northern territories.

As Tokyo suggests, joint activities on the disputed islands should be carried out not on the basis of Russian or Japanese laws, but within the framework of some special regime that would not harm the sovereignty of both countries over these islands. However, such an approach is unacceptable for Russia, because it would mean the unprecedented creation in the southern Kuriles of something like an extraterritorial enclave.

In order to accelerate the economic development of the Far Eastern region, the Russian government decided to create a network of priority development territories (TOR) there, the number of which has reached fifteen today. One of these territories was originally planned for the Kuril Islands. However, according to the statement of Deputy Prime Minister and Presidential Plenipotentiary in the Far Eastern Federal District Yuri Trutnev, its implementation was suspended due to the December agreement between Putin and Abe on joint economic activities in the southern Kuriles. Trutnev's statement made during his stay on Sakhalin in March this year testifies to the fact that the Russian-Japanese negotiations on the implementation of the agreement have gone not easily.

The Deputy Prime Minister, in particular, said: “While there are joint negotiations with the Japanese side on cooperation in the development of the Kuril Islands, we have suspended the creation of the Kurils ASEZ. At the same time, we will not wait much, if we see that there are no effective forms of interaction, but the conversations continue, which means that we will submit proposals to the government on the creation of a TOP. We know exactly where to develop, we can do it with our Japanese colleagues, we can do it without. There are no problems. "

On August 23, Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev signed a decision to create a new Advanced Development Area (ASEZ) "South Kuriles". Medvedev noted that within the framework of the PDA in the Kuriles, fishing, infrastructure, and the construction industry will be developed. "This is such an additional impetus for the development of this very important part of the Sakhalin Oblast," the head of government stressed.

He also said that a document was signed amending the federal target program for the development of the Kuril Islands. According to Medvedev, in this way, the program was brought in line with the current parameters of economic development and gave "certain guidelines for the future." According to the Ministry for the Development of the Far East, private investment in the advanced development area in the Kuril Islands will amount to at least ten billion rubles.

The decision to create the South Kuriles ASEZ caused a wave of criticism in the Japanese media. On August 26, the Hokkaido Shimbun newspaper, which for obvious reasons pays most attention to the territorial problem in relations with Russia, published an editorial under the heading “A special zone has been created on four islands. It is necessary to strive for strict observance of the agreement of the heads of state ”. It says, in part:

“Russian Prime Minister Medvedev signed a decision that defines the northern territories as a special economic zone of his country -“ the territory of advanced development ”. The purpose of this is to develop the four islands, making it a prerequisite for Russia's right of control (over the islands). The joint economic activity that Abe and Putin agreed on makes a prerequisite for a “special system” (tokubetsu seido) that would not violate the legal positions of both parties. This special zone, by its content, contradicts the agreement of the heads of state. "

The newspaper also believes that if this problem remains unresolved, it will be impossible to concretize joint economic activities at the planned meeting of the leaders of Russia and Japan in Vladivostok. According to the publication, the prime minister should clarify the true intentions of the president and urge strict compliance with the agreement.

"Hokkaido Shimbun" believes that the signing of the decision on the establishment of the PDA by Medvedev, who is responsible for domestic policy, defines the creation of a zone on the four islands as an internal problem of the country. In the demonstration by Medvedev of a tough position on the territorial issue on the eve of the meeting between Putin and Abe in Vladivostok, the newspaper sees the calculation to hold the meeting of the leaders in a direction favorable to Russia.

The Hokkaido Shimbun also draws attention to the statement of the Minister for Development of the Far East Alexander Galushka that the Russian side cannot but raise the standard of living on the islands in anticipation of an agreement with Japan on joint economic activities. According to the publication, this means that it is possible that business will come to the islands from countries other than Japan. In addition, it sees in the minister's words a desire to put pressure on Japan, and to dilute its position regarding the legislative framework for joint economic activities in the northern territories. The Hokkaido Shimbun urge Japan to resist attempts to shake its position and to adhere to a principled position in negotiations.

It is characteristic that the publication criticizes the Japanese Prime Minister's administration for haste in negotiations with Russia, believing that it could lead to unjustified concessions from the Japanese side. As stated in the article, the calculation, apparently, is that in the conditions of a drop in the rating of the cabinet of ministers, some positive results in diplomacy with respect to Russia are needed, and therefore the Japanese government wants to get these results in Vladivostok.

However, according to the newspaper, the administration should not damage the interests of the people with its intentions. The upcoming meeting of the two leaders in Vladivostok will be the 19th in a row. However, if the prime minister cannot demand strict adherence to the agreement, then the sense of the accumulation of the number of negotiations between the two leaders will be in doubt. “We must be aware that the Prime Minister has come to a peak in his diplomacy towards Russia,” concludes the Hokkaido Shimbun.

The right-wing conservative newspaper "Sankei Shimbun" in its August 29 issue also published an editorial under the headline "Russia's special zone in the northern territories is unacceptable." According to the authors of the article, A. Galushka's statement that foreign investors will have the same benefits on the islands as Russian ones is aimed at attracting foreign capital and completely ignores Japanese sovereignty over them. According to the newspaper, the Abe administration should express its grave concern, pointing out that the prerequisite for Japanese-Russian cooperation has been lost. The publication believes that if you do not protest, demonstrating a readiness to interrupt consultations on joint economic activities, this will only encourage the Putin administration. In Vladivostok, Abe must tell Putin frankly that the special zone is unacceptable. The newspaper is confident that Russia initially has no right to occupy the northern territories with its troops and conduct economic activities there. One thing is necessary - the return of the islands taken from Japan.

The current special zone (TOR - V.K.), writes "Sankey Shimbun", suggests the use of Russian domestic legislation, which is incompatible with the Japanese position (the creation of a special regime - V.K.). The fact that the Putin administration on the eve of the meeting of the leaders of Japan and Russia has established a special zone is aimed at extracting economic benefits.

In conditions when there is no progress in negotiations on the return of territories, the idea of ​​joint economic activity arose. If we continue to present it as progress, then Russia, as it became obvious, will shake Japan's position. Thus, it will not be possible to get the support of the people for diplomatic negotiations - the mouthpiece of Japanese nationalist circles comes to the conclusion.

The largest Japanese newspaper Yomiuri Shimbun in the issue of 25 August is dedicated to the topic of creation of TOP "Southern Kuriles".

The article, in particular, says: "One cannot but pay attention to the recent step of Russia, because it is a unilateral action that runs counter to the spirit of joint economic activity, which the governments of Japan and Russia have agreed on." The problem, according to the authors of the publication, is that the special zone (TOP - V.K.) involves the application of Russian internal laws. The newspaper fears that Russia's recent move could destroy the bilateral relationship of trust that has been built in recent years.

Like other publications, Yomiuri Shimbun calls for the Japanese prime minister to firmly tell him about Japan's concern at the forthcoming meeting in Vladivostok with Putin and called for the cancellation of the special zone of the country. 

Further, the Japanese newspaper discusses the role of the Russian president in solving the problem. In her opinion, only Putin has the power to make the final decision on the projects of the special zone and the territorial problem by the Russian government.

In light of the upcoming presidential elections in Russia next year, Putin will be unable to make a political decision on the territorial issue for some time. On the other hand, Moscow has high hopes for strengthening economic ties with Japan in the face of continuing economic stagnation in the country, caused, among other factors, by sanctions from the United States and Europe.

Putin, for his part, may well be aware that if talks on joint economic activity fail, it will be difficult for his country to get full-scale economic cooperation from Japan - sums up the country's most massive newspaper.

According to the information of the same newspaper, reported on August 30, from September 4 to September 6, Nikolai Patrushev, aide to Russian President Vladimir Putin and Secretary of the Security Council, will be in Japan. According to the publication, Patrushev will meet with Japanese government officials, including Shotaro Yachi, head of the Japan National Security Council secretariat, to coordinate the agenda of the Japan-Russia summit, which will be held on the sidelines of the Eastern Economic Forum in Vladivostok on September 6-7. Obviously, one of the topics of Patrushev's talks with Japanese representatives will be the problem of joint economic activities of Russia and Japan in the southern Kuriles. The outcome of these conversations will become clear already on September 7 at the meeting of the leaders of the two states.

June 20: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

ТОР «Южные Курилы» - как яблоко раздора?

Японские СМИ против особой экономической зоны на спорных островах

ТОР «Южные Курилы» - как яблоко раздора?
Фото: shutterstock.com

6-7 сентября во Владивостоке состоится  2-й Восточный экономический форум. На его полях 7 сентября планируется провести встречу президента России Владимира Путина и премьер-министра Японии Синдзо Абэ. Это будет второй российско-японский саммит в этом году и вторая встреча руководителей  двух стран на указанном форуме. Одной из главных тем  неформальной «встречи в верхах» станет совместная экономическая деятельность России и Японии на южных Курилах, о которой была достигнута принципиальная договоренность между Путиным и Абэ во время визита российского президента в Японию в декабре прошлого года.

 Как известно, указанные острова перешли к СССР по итогам Второй мировой войны, и Россия легитимно владеет ими как правопреемница Советского Союза. Япония, со своей стороны, считает обладание Россией островами незаконным и требует их вернуть, называя своими северными территориями. Упомянутая договоренность рассматривается политиками двух стран как важный шаг на пути к решению территориальной проблемы в отношениях между Россией и Японией и, соответственно, заключению мирного договора между ними.

В течение текущего года между двумя странами в различных форматах велись консультации относительно практической реализации этой договоренности.  Были намечены приоритетные сферы двустороннего сотрудничества, с каждой стороны предложены списки конкретных проектов, а летом на южных Курилах побывала делегация японских чиновников и бизнесменов с целью ознакомления с ситуацией на месте.

Однако, судя по всему, переговоры о совместном хозяйствовании России и Японии на южной части Курил с самого начала были весьма непростыми. Камнем преткновения явился вопрос о том, на какой законодательной базе осуществлять это хозяйствование. Российские официальные лица неоднократно заявляли, что совместная с Японией экономическая деятельность должна проводиться в соответствии с российским законодательством. Однако такое положение не устраивает японскую сторону. По заявлениям ее представителей, согласие на это означало бы признание Японией российского суверенитета над ее северными территориями.

Как предлагает Токио, совместная деятельность на спорных островах должна осуществляться не на основе российских или японских законов, а в рамках некоего особого режима, который не наносил бы ущерба суверенитету обеих стран над этими островами. Однако такой подход неприемлем для России, ибо означал бы беспрецедентное создание на южных Курилах  чего-то  вроде экстерриториального анклава.

С целью ускорения экономического развития Дальневосточного региона правительством России принято решение о создании там сети территорий опережающего развития (ТОР), число которых на сегодняшний день  достигло пятнадцати. Одна из таких территорий изначально планировалась на Курилах. Однако, по заявлению вице-премьера и полпреда президента в Дальневосточном федеральном округе Юрия Трутнева, ее реализация была приостановлена в связи с декабрьской договоренностью Путина и Абэ о совместной экономической деятельности на южных Курилах. О том, что российско-японские переговоры о реализации договоренности пошли непросто свидетельствует заявление Трутнева, сделанное во время его пребывания на Сахалине в марте этого года.

Вице-премьер, в частности сказал: «Пока идут совместные переговоры с японской стороной о сотрудничестве в сфере развития Курильских островов, мы приостановили создание ТОР "Курилы".  В то же время ждать сильно не будем, если увидим, что никаких эффективных форм взаимодействия нет, а продолжают разговоры, значит, будем вносить в правительство предложения о создании ТОР. Мы точно знаем, куда развиваться, можем делать это с японскими коллегами, можем без. Никаких проблем нет».

23 августа Премьер-министр Дмитрий Медведев подписал решение о создании новой территории опережающего развития (ТОР) "Южные Курилы". Медведев отметил, что в рамках ТОР на Курилах будут развиваться рыбный промысел, инфраструктура, строительная отрасль. "Это такой дополнительный толчок по развитию этой очень важной части Сахалинской области", — подчеркнул глава правительства.

Он также рассказал, что подписан документ, вносящий изменения в федеральную целевую программу по развитию Курильских островов. По словам Медведева, таким образом,  программу привели в соответствие с текущими параметрами экономического развития и дали "определенные ориентиры на будущее". По данным министерства по развитию Дальнего Востока, частные инвестиции в территорию опережающего развития на Курилах  составят не менее десяти миллиардов рублей.

Решение о создание ТОР «Южные Курилы» вызвало волну критики в японских СМИ.  26 августа газета «Хоккайдо симбун», по понятным причинам уделяющая территориальной проблеме в отношениях с Россией наибольшее внимание,  опубликовала   редакционную статью под заголовком  «На четырех островах создана особая зона. Необходимо добиваться строгого соблюдения договоренности глав государств». В ней, в частности говорится:

«Премьер-министр России Медведев подписал решение, которое определяет северные территории как особую экономическую зону своей страны – «территорию опережающего развития». Цель этого заключается в том, чтобы развивать четыре острова, делая предпосылкой право контроля Россией (над островами). Совместная экономическая деятельность, о которой договорились Абэ и Путин, делает предпосылкой «особую систему» (токубэцу сэйдо), которая не нарушала бы юридические позиции  обеих сторон. Эта особая зона своим содержанием противоречит соглашению глав государств».

Газета считает также, что если эта проблема останется нерешенной, то на запланированной во Владивостоке встрече  руководителей  России и Японии будет невозможно конкретизировать совместную экономическую деятельность.  По мнению издания, премьер-министр должен прояснить истинные намерения у президента и настоятельно потребовать  строгого соблюдения соглашения.

«Хоккайдо симбун» полагает, что подписание решения о  создании ТОР  Медведевым, который отвечает за внутреннюю политику,  определяет создание зоны на четырех островах как внутреннюю проблему страны.  В демонстрации  Медведевым жесткой позиции по территориальной проблеме накануне встречи Путина и Абэ во Владивостоке газета усматривает расчет провести встречу лидеров в выгодном для России направлении.

«Хоккайдо симбун» также  обращает внимание на  высказывание  министра по развитию  Дальнего Востока Александра  Галушки о том, что российская сторона  не может не поднимать уровень жизни на островах в ожидании заключения соглашения с Японией о совместной экономической деятельности.  По словам издания, это  означает, что не исключается приход бизнеса на острова  из других стран, помимо Японии. Кроме того, оно усматривает в словах министра  желание оказание давление на Японию,  и размыть ее позицию в отношении законодательной базы совместной хозяйственной деятельности на северных территориях. «Хоккайдо симбун» призывают Японию не  поддаваться попыткам  поколебать ее позицию и на переговорах придерживаться принципиальной позиции.

Характерно, что издание критикует администрацию премьер-министра Японии за поспешность в переговорах с Россией, полагая, что она может привести к неоправданным уступкам с японской стороны. Как говорится в статье, расчет, видимо, состоит в том, что в условиях падения рейтинга кабинета министров необходимы какие-то позитивные результаты в дипломатии в отношении России, и поэтому правительство Японии хочет  во Владивостоке получить эти результаты.

Однако, считает газета,  администрация не должна своими замыслами наносить ущерб интересам народа. Предстоящая встреча двух лидеров во Владивостоке будет 19-й по счету. Однако, если премьер-министр не сможет на ней потребовать строго соблюдать соглашение, то окажется под сомнением смысл накапливания числа переговоров двух лидеров.  «Надо сознавать, что премьер-министр подошел к пику в своей дипломатии в отношении России – заключает «Хоккайдо симбун».

Правоконсервативная газета «Санкэй симбун» в номере от 29 августа также поместила редакционную статью под заголовком «Особая зона России на северных территориях недопустима». По мнению авторов статьи, заявление А.Галушки о том, что иностранные инвесторы будут иметь на островах такие же льготы, как и российские, имеет целью привлечение иностранного капитала и полностью игнорирует японский суверенитет над ними. Как пишет газета, администрация Абэ должна заявить о своей серьезной обеспокоенности, указав на то, что утеряна предпосылка для японо-российского сотрудничества.  Издание  полагает, что если не протестовать, демонстрируя готовность прервать консультации о совместной экономической деятельности, то это будет лишь поощрять администрацию Путина. Во Владивостоке Абэ  должен откровенно сказать Путину, что особая зона неприемлема.  Газета уверена, что у России изначально нет права оккупировать своими войсками северные территории и вести там экономическую деятельность.  Необходимо одно – вернуть острова, отнятые у Японии.

Нынешняя особая зона (ТОР – В.К.), пишет «Санкэй симбун», предполагает применение российского внутреннего законодательства, что несовместимо с японской позицией (создание особого режима – В.К.). То, что администрация Путина накануне встречи руководителей Японии и России установила особую зону, имеет своей целью выудить экономические выгоды.

В условиях, когда нет продвижения в переговорах о возвращении территорий, возникла идея о совместной экономической деятельности. Если продолжать  представлять ее как  прогресс, то Россия, как стало очевидным, будет раскачивать позицию Японии. Тем самым  нельзя будет получить поддержки народом дипломатических переговоров – приходит к выводу рупор японских националистических кругов.

Теме создания ТОР «Южные Курилы» посвящает пространную статью крупнейшая японская газета «Йомиури симбун» в номере от 25 августа.

В статье, в частности, говорится: «Нельзя не обратить внимания на недавний шаг России, потому что это одностороннее действие, которое идет вразрез с духом совместной экономической деятельности, о которой договорились правительства Японии и России».   Проблема, по мнению авторов публикации,  в том, что особая зона (ТОР – В.К.) предполагает применение российских внутренних законов. Газета высказывает опасения, что недавний шаг России может разрушить двусторонние отношения доверия, которые были выстроены в последние годы.

Как и другие издания, «Йомиури симбун» призывает к тому, чтобы на предстоящей во Владивостоке встрече с Путиным японский премьер твердо заявил ему об обеспокоенности Японии и призвал к аннулированию специальной зоны страны. 

Далее  японская газета рассуждает о роли российского президента в решении проблемы. По ее мнению, властью для принятия правительством России окончательного решения по проектам специальной зоны и территориальной проблемы обладает исключительно Путин.

В свете предстоящих в следующем году выборах президента в России Путин будет какое-то время не в состоянии принять политическое решение   в отношении территориальной проблемы. С другой стороны, Москва питает большие надежды на укрепление экономических связей с Японией в условиях продолжающейся экономической стагнации в стране, вызванной, помимо других факторов,  санкциями со стороны США и Европы.

Путин, со своей стороны, возможно, вполне сознает, что если переговоры по совместной экономической деятельности провалятся, то для его страны будет трудно получить полномасштабное экономическое сотрудничество со стороны Японии – резюмирует самая массовая в стране газета.

По информации той же газеты, сообщенной 30 августа, с 4 по 6 сентября в Японии будет  находиться помощник российского президента В.Путина  и секретарь Совета безопасности Николай Патрушев. Как сообщает издание, Патрушев встретится с  официальными лицами японского правительства, включая Сётаро Яти, главу секретариата Национального совета безопасности Японии, чтобы скоординировать повестку  саммита Япония-Россия, который будет проведен на полях Восточного экономического форума во Владивостоке 6-7 сентября.  Очевидно, что одной из тем бесед Патрушева с японскими представителями станет проблема совместной экономической деятельности России и Японии на южных Курилах.  Итог этих бесед станет ясным уже 7 сентября на встрече лидеров двух государств.