Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Trump on Toyota hit

The elected American president will show the Japanese auto giant "kuzkina mother"

Trump on Toyota hit

Valery Kistanov

Head of the Center for Japanese Studies of the Institute of Far Eastern Studies
Donald Trump, who will sit in the chair of the President of the United States of America on January 20, was a fourteen-year-old teenager in 1960 and probably does not remember how the then head of the USSR Nikita Khrushchev from the rostrum of the UN General Assembly in his native New York promised to introduce the Americans to Kuz kina mother "- the mysterious" kuzka mother ". Recently, however, it is in the spirit of Khrushchev, but in the American way specifically, he has been pouring economic (and not only) threats against Japan, China and other Asian competitors of the United States. So, on January 6, on his Twitter page, Trump promised the world's largest car manufacturer - Toyota Corporation - an increase in import duties by 35% if it implements its plan to create another plant in Mexico for exporting products to the US market. We are talking about the construction in this Latin American country in 2019 of an enterprise for the production of the Corolla model.

This statement lies in a series of other loud statements by the billionaire, designed to present him in the form of a defender of the interests of American workers. A similar tough warning trump addressed to domestic Ford. Having capitulated to its future president, the American automaker has already abandoned plans to build its own automobile plant in Mexico worth 1,6 billion dollars for the same purpose - selling its products in the US domestic market.

The Japanese automotive industry has already managed to get a painful blow: on the barely opened in the new year, the Tokyo Stock Exchange after the statement of Trump Toyota shares fell by 1,7%, Nissan's shares, which among Japanese automakers has the largest production base in Mexico, fell by 2,2%, and Mazda collapsed as much as 3,2%.

The news literally blew up not only the circles of car manufacturers, but the business and political world of the Land of the Rising Sun as a whole. A series of alarmingly outraged statements followed from prominent representatives of Japanese business organizations and members of the Japanese parliament. Trump's attack on Toyota has also worried the cabinet. A government source said that imposing higher tariffs on Japanese automotive products would be contrary to WTO rules and the government could resort to countermeasures.

Such an acute reaction is explained by the fact that Toyota for the Japanese is "our everything": not just a symbol, but also the backbone of Japanese industry. From how "affairs on Toyota", the state of the economy of the country as a whole depends. And Toyota itself is to the highest degree "tied" to foreign markets. According to the captains of Japanese business, Mexico now seems a risky place for business, and after the inauguration of Trump, the world in general will be completely different.

Indeed, even during his election campaign, Trump said that if he was elected, he would remove the United States from the projected Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), a trade agreement uniting 12 of the Pacific countries, which together account for 40% of world GDP. Tokyo placed special hopes on it, as duty-free trade within the framework of the agreement opened a new wide gateway for the flow of Japanese cars to the world's largest car market in the USA. True, Tokyo would have to pay for this with its agriculture, which is in the greenhouse conditions of protection, which cannot withstand competition from American cheap agricultural products.

In an attempt to clarify Trump's true intentions for the TTP, and at the same time, the military alliance with Japan, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe achieved an unprecedented meeting in New York with 17 November 2009 with the uncharted president of America. Details of the meeting were not disclosed, but after it the Japanese parliament ratified the agreement on the TTP, and Abe himself does not lose hope of discouraging Trump from the disastrous solution for this partnership. By the way, Japan is very worried and Trump's statement about the need to review the agreement on free trade in North America (NAFTA). It was this that allowed the Japanese corporations to create a powerful export base in Mexico and Canada with a view to the capacious market of the United States.

And yet, apparently, between Japan and the United States is unlikely to break out of the automobile war in the spirit of 80-ies of the last century. A representative of Toyota in the US has already said that the corporation intends to invest in the US economy for five years a huge amount of 10 billion dollars. True, he filed this fact not as a response to Trump, but as part of the existing business strategy of the automaker. Although the mouthpiece of the Japanese business community, the Nikkei newspaper, frankly regards this message as "paying off" to Trump. With the aim of cajoling the "American Khrushchev", the Japanese also remind that by the present moment Toyota has already accumulated its direct investments in the USA for the total amount of 21,9 billion dollars, created 1500 dealer centers and provided work to 136 thousands of Americans.

Most likely, Trump's threat to Toyota will remain on Twitter. Well, if it is still implemented, then Japanese automakers will have to expand markets to market their products in other countries and continents. In this regard, Russia is of considerable interest to them, which, according to Japanese experts, is the most promising car market in Europe. Although Toyota already firmly occupies the place of the leader in foreign car sales in the homeland of Kuzma and his mother.
March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Трамп на Тойоту наехал

Избранный американский президент покажет японскому автогиганту «кузькину мать»

Трамп на Тойоту наехал
Дональд Трамп, который сядет в кресло президента Соединенных Штатов Америки 20 января, был в 1960 году четырнадцатилетним подростком и, вероятно, не помнит, как тогдашний глава СССР Никита Хрущев с трибуны Генассамблеи ООН в его родном Нью-Йорке обещал познакомить американцев с «Kuz’kina mother» – загадочной «кузькиной матерью». Однако в последнее время именно в духе Хрущева, но, по-американски конкретно, он сыплет экономическими (и не только) угрозами в адрес Японии, Китая и других азиатских конкурентов США. Так, 6 января на своей странице в Твиттере Трамп посулил крупнейшему в мире производителю автомобилей – корпорации Тойота – увеличение ввозных пошлин на 35%, в случае если она реализует свой план создать очередной завод в Мексике для экспорта  продукции на рынок США. Речь идет о строительстве в этой латиноамериканской стране в 2019 году предприятия по выпуску модели «Королла».

Это заявление лежит в ряду других громких высказываний миллиардера, призванных представить его в образе защитника интересов американских рабочих. Аналогичное жесткое предупреждение Трамп адресовал и отечественному Форду. Капитулировав перед своим будущим президентом, американский автоконцерн уже отказался от планов строительства собственного автомобильного завода в Мексике стоимостью в 1,6 млрд долл. с той же целью – реализации его продукции на внутреннем рынке США.

Японская автомобильная промышленность уже успела получить болезненный удар: на едва открывшейся в новом году Токийской фондовой бирже после заявления Трампа акции Тойоты понизились на 1,7%, акции Ниссана, который среди японских автопроизводителей имеет самую крупную производственную базу в Мексике, упали на 2,2%, а Мазды рухнули аж на 3,2%.

Новость буквально взорвала не только круги автопромышленников, но деловой и политический мир Страны восходящего солнца в целом. Последовала череда тревожно возмущенных заявлений со стороны видных представителей деловых организаций Японии и членов японского парламента. Атака Трампа на Тойоту обеспокоила также кабинет министров. Источник в правительственных кругах сказал, что обложение более высокими тарифами японской автомобильной продукции будет противоречить правилам ВТО и правительство может прибегнуть к контрмерам.

Столь острая реакция объясняется тем, что Тойота для японцев – это «наше все»: не просто символ, но и хребет японской промышленности. От того, как «дела на Тойоте», зависит самочувствие экономики страны в целом. А сама Тойота в высочайшей степени «завязана» на зарубежные рынки. По мнению капитанов японского бизнеса, Мексика теперь представляется рискованным местом для предпринимательской деятельности, а после инаугурации Трампа мир вообще станет совсем другим.

Действительно, еще в ходе своей предвыборной кампании Трамп заявил, что в случае своего избрания он в целях защиты занятости американцев выведет США из проектируемого Транстихокеанского партнерства (ТТП) – торгового соглашения, объединяющего 12 стран бассейна Тихого океана, на которые в совокупности приходится 40% мирового ВВП. На него Токио возлагал особые надежды, так как беспошлинная торговля в рамках соглашения открывала новый широкий шлюз для потока японских автомобилей на крупнейший в мире авторынок в США. Правда, за это Токио пришлось бы расплатиться своим находящимся в парниковых условиях протекционизма сельским хозяйством, которое не выдержит конкуренции с американской дешевой сельхозпродукцией.

С целью прояснить истинные намерения Трампа в отношении ТТП, а заодно и военного альянса с Японией, премьер-министр Синдзо Абэ добился беспрецедентной встречи 17 ноября прошлого года в Нью-Йорке с еще не вступившим в должность президентом Америки. Детали встречи не разглашались, однако уже после нее японский парламент ратифицировал соглашение о ТТП, а сам Абэ не теряет надежды отговорить Трампа от гибельного для этого партнерства решения. Кстати, Японию очень тревожит и заявление Трампа о необходимости пересмотреть соглашение о свободной торговле в Северной Америке (НАФТА). Именно оно позволило создать японским корпорациям мощную экспортную базу в Мексике и Канаде с прицелом на емкий рынок Соединенных Штатов.

И все же, судя по всему, между Японией и США вряд ли разразится автомобильная война в духе 80-х годов прошлого столетия. Представитель Тойоты в США уже заявил, что корпорация намерена вложить в экономику США в течение пяти лет гигантскую сумму в 10 млрд долл. Правда, он подал этот факт не как ответ Трампу, а как часть существующей бизнес стратегии автоконцерна. Хотя рупор японских деловых кругов, газета Nikkei, откровенно расценивает это сообщение как «откупные» Трампу. С целью умаслить «американского Хрущева» японцы также напоминают, что к настоящему моменту Тойота уже накопила в США своих прямых инвестиций на общую сумму в 21,9 млрд долл., создала 1500 дилерских центров и предоставила работу 136 тысячам американцев.

Скорее всего, угроза Трампа Тойоте так и останется в Твиттере. Ну, а если она все же будет реализована, то японским автопроизводителям придется расширять рынки для сбыта своей продукции в других странах и континентах. В этом плане для них немалый интерес представляет Россия, которая, по оценке японских экспертов, является самым перспективным авторынком в Европе. Хотя Тойота и без того уже прочно занимает место лидера по продажам иномарок на родине Кузьмы и его матери.