Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

In Korea, dissolve the fund to help women victims of Japanese brothels

South Korea announced the dissolution of the fund for former comfort woomen

The Seoul Ministry of Gender Equality and Family has announced that it will take legal steps to dissolve the fund, which was created by agreement of 2015, by the foreign ministers of the two countries. The fund provided financial assistance to 34-victims of sexual exploitation during the Second World War to women and 58 relatives of the victims.

In Korea, dissolve the fund to help women victims of Japanese brothels

Lee Nam Hong, an official from the Ministry of Gender Equality, said the Seoul Ministry of Foreign Affairs plans to consult with Tokyo on what to do with 1 billion yen ($ 8,8 million) that Japan provided to the fund.

“After reviewing different opinions about the“ Conciliation and Healing Foundation ”focused on the victims, we decided to dissolve the fund,” said the Minister for Gender Equality Jin Sung Mi in a statement. According to her, the Ministry will continue to pursue a policy aimed at “restoring the honor and dignity” of the victims of sexual slavery.

South Korea has promised to refrain from criticizing Japan on this issue. The agreement, according to which Japan provided funds for a fund to help former "women comforters" and their families, was unpopular in South Korea.

During the Second World War, not only in Korea, but also in other countries of Southeast Asia, where the Japanese military conducted operations, so-called "comfort stations" were created for soldiers, or, in other words, military brothels. The number of girls involved in prostitution at that time was tens and even hundreds of thousands.
November 28: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

В Корее распустят фонд помощи женщинам-жертвам японских борделей

Южная Корея объявила о роспуске фонда для бывших comfort woomen

Сеульское Министерство по вопросам гендерного равенства и семьи заявило, что предпримет юридические шаги для роспуска фонда, который был создан по соглашению от 2015 года главами МИД двух стран. Фонд оказывал финансовую помощь 34-м пострадавшим от сексуальной эксплуатации во время Второй мировой войны женщинам и 58-ми родственникам погибших.

В Корее распустят фонд помощи женщинам-жертвам японских борделей

Ли Нам Хун, чиновник из Министерства по вопросам гендерного равенства, сказал, что Министерство иностранных дел Сеула планирует провести консультации с Токио о том, что делать с 1 млрд иен ($8,8 млн), которые Япония предоставляла для фонда.

– Рассмотрев различные мнения по поводу «Фонда примирения и исцеления», ориентированного на жертв, мы решили распустить фонд, – сказала в своем заявлении министр по вопросам гендерного равенства Джин Сун Ми. По ее словам, Министерство будет продолжать проводить политику, направленную на «восстановление чести и достоинства» жертв сексуального рабства.

Южная Корея пообещала воздержаться от критики Японии по этому вопросу. Соглашение, согласно которому Япония предоставила средства для фонда помощи бывшим «женщинам-утешителям» и их семьям, была непопулярна в Южной Корее.

В годы Второй мировой войны не только в Корее, но и других странах Юго-Восточной Азии, где проводили операции японские военные, создавались так называемые «станции утешения» для солдат или, другими словами, военные бордели. Число девушек, вовлеченных в то время в проституцию, составляло десятки и даже сотни тысяч.