Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Ports pierced the scrap

The authorities for the third time limited the export of scrap metal in the Far East

Last week it became known about the next restriction of scrap exports from the ports of the Far East - having excluded from the list all the main universal ports of the south of the macroregion connected with the railways, the government actually imposed a ban on the export of scrap to Asia. The measure will enter into force in July and will be in effect for a minimum of 180 days. The market is unhappy with the fact that only the only metallurgical plant in the Far East - Amurstal, traditionally experiencing a severe shortage of raw materials - remains in the lead. Who will be the main victims and what is the scale of the business of harvesting and selling scrap in the Far East, EastRussia found out.

Ports pierced the scrap
Photo: shutterstock.com
NINE PORTS - AND NOT ONE

On May 19, the government of the Russian Federation adopted Resolution No. 584 "On the Determination in the Far Eastern Federal District of checkpoints across the state border for departure from the Russian Federation outside the customs territory of the EEC of certain categories of goods." The standard applies to ferrous scrap. Since 2015, scrap metal has been a strategically important commodity for the Russian domestic market, and bans or restrictions may be imposed on its export. According to a document published on May 22, the export of scrap metal will be possible only through nine Far Eastern ports. Among them are Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky (Kamchatka Territory), Magadan (Magadan Region), Cape Lazarev, Nikolaevsk-on-Amur, Okhotsk, De-Kastri (Khabarovsk Territory), Moskalvo, Prigorodnoye, Shakhtersk (Sakhalin). 

The new rules will take effect within 60 days after publication and will be valid for 180 days. The largest port nodes of the Far East, to which the main stream of general and bulk cargo goes - Vanino, Nakhodka-Vostochny, Vladivostok - did not fall into the list of export points. Railways do not lead to the ports listed in the resolution, although rail transport is the key in the supply of ferrous scrap. Only within the Far Eastern Railway for 2017 year 216 thousand tons of scrap were shipped, but the main cargo to the Far Eastern ports comes from Siberia: according to the data of the "RUSLOM.COM" scrap processing group, over the past year from Irkutsk to Vladivostok, the railway transport transported 1,33 million tons of scrap, automobile - 280 thousand tons. According to the statistics of the FCS, 1,4 million tons of 1 million tons of scrap collected in the Far East are exported annually.

At the same time, it should be understood that some of the ports through which scrap will be allowed to open are not open all year round, and through some, such as Prigorodnoye and DeKastri, mostly liquid cargo is sent (dry cargoes from the first are sent by "Dallesprom" , the second - no one). In fact, only the universal ports of Magadan and Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky remain at the metal traders. And theoretically, exporters, having loaded scrap from wagons to ships, can take it by sea to the nearest "authorized" port to declare, and then send to consumers - to the countries of Asia. But whether they will go to such significant additional costs in practice is a big question.

Through which ports of the Far East it will be possible to carry scrap (Rosmorrechport data)

Sea port
Throughput capacity of cargo terminals, thousand tons per year
Including dry cargo, thousand tons per year
Navigation
Shakhtersk
2 300
2 300
1 March - 1 of January
Magadan
2 990
2 050
All year round
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky
2 060,6
1 262
All year round
Nikolaevsk-on-Amur
784,4
695,6
May - November
DeKastri
12 350
350
All year round
Moskalvo
600
192
June - November
Okhotsk
156
150
15 May - 15 November
Cape Lazarev
100
100
1 May - 30 November
Suburban
19 600
0
All year round


However, such difficulties are not new for metal traders. In 2008, the Russian authorities already restricted the export of scrap through all Far Eastern ports, except for Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. The ban was regulated by order of the Federal Customs Service and existed in 2009 for six months. Exporters contested it with the FAS, and the norm was canceled. On November 26, 2011, government decree No. 1148 was adopted, banning the export of ferrous scrap through any ports in the Far East, except Magadan. It also operated for six months. Thus, the current attempt to restrict exports is the third in a row in the last 10 years.

DEFICIT ON THE BACKGROUND OF ABUNDANCE

An active discussion about a new possible ban on the export of scrap through the largest ports of the Primorsky and Khabarovsk Territories has been going on since 2017. On the market, the measure was directly linked to the intentions of the Ministry of Industry and Trade to support the only existing metallurgical production in the Far East - the Amurmetall plant, for which scrap metal is the only possible raw material. At the third Eastern Economic Forum, a member of the board of directors of Vladivostok Sea Fishing Port Denis Sarana said: “This is not the first attempt to ban exports. All this is done to support one enterprise - the Amurmetall plant from Komsomolsk-on-Amur. But you can support the industry , it is impossible - a separate enterprise ".

Whatever it was, the metallurgical industry in the Far Eastern Federal District is currently represented only by Amurmetal (the historical name Amurstal is also used), which after a protracted bankruptcy at the beginning of 2017 was bought out by the group of companies Toreks. Until 2017 on 50% of the company with shares of 1 million rubles. belonged to Nikolai Mistryukov (partner of the State Duma deputy from the LDPR Sergey Furgal) and Larisa Starodubova. But last spring in the company's share capital with a share of 2 million rubles. Pavel Balsky - partner of Arkady Rotenberg joined. Interest of the latter to the asset may be related to the prospects of building a bridge on Sakhalin, which will require a lot of metal. In the interests of Rothenberg or not, but Mr. Balsky received 50% of the company and became the head of its board of directors. The shares of co-founders are pledged to PJSC "Orient Express Bank" under a credit line agreement.

Torex has its own scrap collection network in the Far East, but it only provides up to 200 thousand tons of raw materials per year. The maximum pre-crisis capacity of Amurmetal is 1 million tons of steel products per year, but the enterprise has not yet reached pre-bankruptcy volumes. In January 2018, while accepting the Khabarovsk Governor Vyacheslav Shport at the plant, the executive director of Torex-Khabarovsk LLC Sergey Zyubr said that in 2017 Amurmetall produced 187 thousand tons of finished products, and in plans for 2018 - 700 thousand tons.

In February 2018, RUSLOM.KOM members informed the Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade Sergey Tsib that they were ready to voluntarily provide supplies to Amurmetal up to 660 thousand tons of scrap per year. Five companies were ready to take on the largest obligations: Translom promised to supply 140 thousand tons (the former structure of Russian Railways, through the Moscow-based Kronos LLC belongs to the partner of President's assistant Igor Levitin Alexey Zolotarev), 130 thousand tons - Dalvtormet ( controlled by Yuri Pisarenko through the Khabarovsk LLC "Aquila"), 100 thousand tons - GC “Metalltorg-Vostok” (owned by the Primorsky businessman Alexei Mitrofanov), 60 thousand tons - GC “Sibirvtormet” (controlled by the Khabarovsk businessman Andrey Kim), 30 thousand tons - tons - GK "Gefest". True, the companies of the association asked the Ministry of Industry and Trade not to prohibit the export of scrap, and Amurmetal asked to buy raw materials at market prices and not have debts to suppliers. 


SHIPPING MINUS BILLIONS

The government's decision leaves at least a choice for exporters: to sell raw materials only to Amurmetal at a price agreed by the plant, or to look for new buyers inside the country. Note that the average customs cost of a ton of scrap, based on the statistics of the Federal Customs Service for 2017 for the ports of the Far East, amounted to about $ 172 - 9,9 thousand rubles. In "Torex", however, have already stated EastRussiathat they consider this statistic to be underestimated. The average price of a ton of scrap in the Asia-Pacific markets, according to metaltorg.ru, in the spring of 2018 ranges between $ 320-350 (19,2-21 thousand rubles) per ton. The average price of a ton of ferrous scrap on the domestic Russian market is much lower - 11-12 thousand rubles. per ton. Potential losses of scrap exporters due to the difference in prices from 7 rubles. for each ton, they are poured into billions of rubles.

Torex today announced that they are ready to buy back from the traders the remains of scrap metal that will accumulate after the entry into force of the export ban through the ports of the south of the Far East to meet the needs of Amurstal is about 100 thousand tons a month, "like before , are ready to work with all suppliers at market prices. " The plant's general director Sergey Kuznetsov stressed that "for every ton of supplies needed to fight with South Korean factories," which "always offered inflated prices." "There should not be any questions about limiting competition at all, because in the Far Eastern region, the purchase of scrap metal, in conjunction with the Amurstal plant, has for many years been actively carried out by large Western metallurgical plants - Magnitogorsk Iron and Steel Works and EVRAZ (SGMK -Trade ")," he added ..

Meanwhile, it is obvious that the main victims in this situation are by no means traders. But the stevedores of the south of Primorye have no choice for the period of the new government restriction. Denis Sarana estimated last year possible losses in the ports of the region from the ban on scrap exports of $ 10 million in revenue, exporters themselves - in another $ 30-40 million. A month later, the coastal stevedores estimated the loss from the ban as "about a million tons per year of a stable cargo base for ports "and the drop in their revenues by 700-800 million rubles.

Of course, scrap metal is not the main cargo for the ports of the Far East. According to the Association of Russian Sea Ports (APM), in 2017, the total cargo turnover of the DFO ports in three zones amounted to 192,75 million tons. 63%, or 120,7 million tons, falls on the zone of Primorsky Krai and the Eastern Arctic. According to the Far Eastern Customs Administration, 2017 million tons of ferrous scrap and 1,036 million tons of cargo were exported from the Far Eastern Federal District for 61,16 year. Thus, for tonnage scrap - this is only 0,5% of the total cargo turnover of the Far Eastern ports, or 1,7% of officially registered exports. The total customs value of the scrap removed is $ 177,92 million (based on the average annual rate of the dollar in 58,3 rubles - about 10,38 billion rubles), or 0,8% of the $ 22,24 billion declared by exporters. 

However, in the business of individual stevedores, ferrous scrap takes a significant place. For example, one of the largest shippers of scrap metal in the port of Vladivostok is Vladmorrybport. In 2015 the company, according to the latest annual report, handled 289 thousand tons of scrap, in 2016 - 376,7 thousand tons, in 2017 - 408 thousand tons. This is about 40% of the total export of scrap from the Far East. OJSC on 51,9% belongs to Moscow-based Geotex LLC controlled by Singapore's Sparklin Holdings Pte Ltd (formerly the founder of the company was the daughter of the former co-owner of the Evraz holding, Alexander Katunin, Maria Katunina, now on the board of directors of the port), another 20,33% from the Californian Asian Metal Resources Group, the beneficiary of which is Denis Sarana. 
March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Портам воткнули лом

Власти в третий раз ограничили экспорт металлолома на Дальнем Востоке

На прошлой неделе стало известно об очередном ограничении экспорта металлолома из портов Дальнего Востока - исключив из перечня все связанные с железными дорогами основные универсальные порты юга макрорегиона, правительство фактически ввело запрет на вывоз лома в Азию. Мера вступит в силу в июле и будет действовать минимум 180 дней. На рынке недовольны тем, что в выигрыше остается лишь единственный на Дальнем Востоке металлургический комбинат - "Амурсталь", традиционно испытывающий сильный дефицит сырья. Кто будет основными пострадавшими и каков вообще масштаб бизнеса по заготовке и продаже лома на Дальнем Востоке, выясняло EastRussia.

Портам воткнули лом
Фото: shutterstock.com
ДЕВЯТЬ ПОРТОВ - И НИ ОДНОГО

19 мая правительство РФ приняло постановление № 584 "Об определении в Дальневосточном федеральном округе пунктов пропуска через госграницу для убытия из РФ за пределы таможенной территории ЕЭС отдельных категорий товаров". Норма касается лома черных металлов. С 2015 года металлолом является стратегически важным для внутреннего российского рынка товаром, и в отношении его экспорта могут быть установлены запреты или ограничения. Согласно документу, опубликованному 22 мая, экспорт металлолома будет возможен только через девять дальневосточных портов. Среди них Петропавловск-Камчатский (Камчатский край), Магадан (Магаданская область), Мыс Лазарева, Николаевск-на-Амуре, Охотск, Де-Кастри (Хабаровский край), Москальво, Пригородное, Шахтерск (Сахалин). 

Новые правила вступают в силу в течение 60 дней после опубликования и будут действовать 180 дней. Крупнейшие портовые узлы Дальнего Востока, на которые идет основной поток генеральных и навалочных грузов - Ванино, Находка-Восточный, Владивосток - в перечень пунктов экспорта не попали. К перечисленным в постановлении портам железные дороги не ведут, хотя железнодорожный транспорт - ключевой в поставке лома черных металлов. Только в пределах ДВЖД за 2017 год погружено 216 тыс. тонн лома, но основной груз в адрес дальневосточных портов идет из Сибири: по данным объединения ломопереработчиков "РУСЛОМ.КОМ", за прошлый год от Иркутска до Владивостока железнодорожный транспорт перевез 1,33 млн тонн лома, автомобильный - 280 тыс. тонн. По статистике ФТС, из 1,4 млн тонн лома, собираемого на Дальнем Востоке, на экспорт ежегодно уходит порядка 1 млн тонн.

При этом нужно понимать, что часть из портов, через которые будет разрешено вывозить лом, открыты не круглый год, а через некоторые, как, например, Пригородное и Де-Кастри, отправляются в основном наливные грузы (сухие грузы из первого отправляет "Дальлеспром", из второго - никто). По сути, у металлотрейдеров остаются на выбор лишь универсальные порты Магадан и Петропавловска-Камчатского. И теоретически экспортерам, погрузив лом с вагонов на суда, можно довезти его морем до ближайшего "разрешенного" порта, чтобы задекларировать, и затем отправить потребителям - в страны Азии. Но пойдут ли они на столь значительные дополнительные издержки на практике - большой вопрос.

Через какие порты Дальнего Востока можно будет везти лом (данные Росморречпорта)

Морской порт
Пропускная способность грузовых терминалов, тыс. тонн в год
В том числе сухих грузов, тыс. тонн в год
Навигация
Шахтерск
2 300
2 300
1 марта - 1 января
Магадан
2 990
2 050
Круглый год
Петропавловск-Камчатский
2 060,6
1 262
Круглый год
Николаевск-на-Амуре
784,4
695,6
Май - ноябрь
Де-Кастри
12 350
350
Круглый год
Москальво
600
192
Июнь - ноябрь
Охотск
156
150
15 мая - 15 ноября
Мыс Лазарева
100
100
1 мая - 30 ноября
Пригородное
19 600
0
Круглый год


Впрочем, подобные сложности - не новинка для металлотрейдеров. В 2008 году российские власти уже ограничивали экспорт лома через все дальневосточные порты, кроме Петропавловска-Камчатского. Запрет регламентировался приказом ФТС и просуществовал в 2009 году в течение полугода. Экспортеры оспорили его в ФАС, и норма была отменена. 26 ноября 2011 года было принято постановление правительства № 1148, запретившее экспорт лома черных металлов через любые порты Дальнего Востока, кроме Магадана. Оно также действовало полгода. Таким образом, нынешняя попытка ограничения экспорта - третья по счету за последние 10 лет.

ДЕФИЦИТ НА ФОНЕ ИЗОБИЛИЯ

Активная дискуссия о новом возможном запрете экспорта лома через крупнейшие порты Приморского и Хабаровского краев шла с 2017 года. На рынке меру прямо связывали с намерениями Минпромторга поддержать единственное действующее металлургическое производство Дальнего Востока - завод "Амурметалл", для которого металлолом является единственным возможным сырьем. На третьем Восточном экономическом форуме член совета директоров ОАО "Владивостокский морской рыбный порт" Денис Сарана заявил: "Это не первая попытка запретить экспорт. Все это делается ради поддержки одного предприятия - завода «Амурметалл» из Комсомольска-на-Амуре. Но можно поддерживать отрасль, нельзя - отдельное предприятие".

Как бы то ни было, металлургическая отрасль в ДФО представлена пока только "Амурметаллом" (также используется историческое название "Амурсталь"), который после затяжного банкротства в начале 2017 года выкупила группа компаний "Торэкс". До 2017 года по 50% компании с долями в 1 млн руб. принадлежало Николаю Мистрюкову (партнер депутата Госдумы от ЛДПР Сергея Фургала) и Ларисе Стародубовой. Но весной прошлого года в уставный капитал компании с долей в 2 млн руб. вступил Павел Бальский - партнер Аркадия Ротенберга. Интерес последнего к активу может быть связан с перспективами строительства моста на Сахалин, для которого потребуется очень много металла. В интересах Ротенбергов или нет, но господин Бальский получил 50% компании и стал главой ее совета директоров. Доли соучредителей находятся в залоге у ПАО "Восточный экспресс банк" по договору кредитной линии.

У "Торэкса" на Дальнем Востоке своя ломозаготовительная сеть, но она обеспечивает лишь до 200 тыс. тонн сырья в год. Максимальная докризисная мощность "Амурметалла" - 1 млн тонн стальной продукции в год, но предприятие пока не вышло на добанкротные объемы. В январе 2018 года, принимая на заводе хабаровского губернатора Вячеслава Шпорта, исполнительный директор ООО «Торэкс-Хабаровск» Сергей Зюбр рассказал, что за 2017 год "Амурметалл" произвел 187 тысяч тонн готовой продукции, а в планах на 2018 год - 700 тысяч тонн.

В феврале 2018 года члены "РУСЛОМ.КОМ" сообщали замглавы Минпромторга Сергею Цибу, что готовы добровольно обеспечить поставки на "Амурметалл" до 660 тыс. тонн лома в год. Самые крупные обязательства были готовы взять на себя пять компаний: 140 тыс. тонн обещал поставлять "Транслом" (бывшая структура РЖД, через московское ООО "Кронос" принадлежит партнеру помощника президента Игоря Левитина Алексею Золотареву), 130 тыс. тонн - "Дальвтормет" (через хабаровское ООО "Аквила" контролируется Юрием Писаренко), 100 тыс. тонн - ГК "Металлторг-Восток" (принадлежит приморскому предпринимателю Алексею Митрофанову), 60 тыс. тонн - ГК "Сибирьвтормет" (контролирует хабаровский бизнесмен Андрей Ким), 30 тыс. тонн - ГК "Гефест". Правда, компании ассоциации просили Минпромторг не запрещать экспорт лома, а "Амурметалл" - покупать сырье по рыночной цене и не иметь долгов перед поставщиками. 


ОТГРУЗКА МИНУС МИЛЛИАРДЫ

Решение правительства оставляет экспортерам хотя бы выбор: продавать сырье только "Амурметаллу" по цене, которую согласует завод, или искать новых покупателей внутри страны. Отметим, что средняя таможенная стоимость тонны лома, исходя из статистики ФТС за 2017 год по портам Дальнего Востока, составила около $172 - 9,9 тыс. руб. В "Торэксе", впрочем, уже заявляли EastRussia, что считают эту статистику заниженной. Средняя цена тонны лома на рынках АТР, по данным metaltorg.ru, весной 2018 года колеблется в пределах $320-350 (19,2-21 тыс. руб.) за тонну. Средняя цена тонны черного лома на внутреннем российском рынке значительно ниже - 11-12 тыс. руб. за тонну. Потенциальные потери экспортеров лома из-за разницы в ценах от 7 руб. на каждую тонну выливаются в миллиарды рублей.

В "Торэксе" сегодня заявили, что готовы выкупить у трейдеров остатки металлолома, которые будут накапливаться после вступления в силу запрета экспорта через порты юга Дальнего Востока, чтобы обеспечить потребности "Амурстали" - это около 100 тыс. тонн ежемесячно, причем "как и ранее, готовы работать со всеми поставщиками по рыночным ценам". За требуемые объемы поставок сырья, подчеркнул гендиректор завода Сергей Кузнецов, "приходится за каждую тонну бороться с комбинатами Южной Кореи", которые "всегда предлагали завышенные цены". "Вопросов об ограничении конкуренции вообще не должно быть по причине того, что в Дальневосточном регионе закупку металлолома, совместно с заводом «Амурсталь», на протяжении многих лет активно осуществляют крупные западные металлургические комбинаты – «Магнитогорский металлургический комбинат» и «ЕВРАЗ» («СГМК-Трейд»)", - добавил он..

Между тем, очевидно, что главные пострадавшие в этой ситуации - отнюдь не трейдеры. А вот у стивидоров юга Приморья выбора на период действия нового правительственного ограничения уже нет. Денис Сарана оценивал в прошлом году возможные потери портов региона от запрета на экспорт лома в $10 млн выручки, самих экспортеров - еще в $30-40 млн. Месяцем позднее приморские стивидоры оценили потери от запрета как "около миллиона тонн в год стабильной грузовой базы для портов" и падение их выручки на 700-800 млн рублей.

Конечно, металлолом - далеко не главный груз для портов Дальнего Востока. По данным Ассоциации морских портов России (АПМ), в 2017 году суммарный грузооборот портов ДФО по трем зонам составил 192,75 млн тонн. 63%, или 120,7 млн тонн, приходится на зону Приморского края и Восточной Арктики. По данным Дальневосточного таможенного управления, за 2017 год из ДФО экспортировано 1,036 млн тонн лома черных металлов и 61,16 млн тонн грузов всего. Таким образом, по тоннажу металлолом - это всего 0,5% от суммарного грузооборота дальневосточных портов, или 1,7% от официально зарегистрированного экспорта. Общая таможенная стоимость вывезенного лома - $177,92 млн (исходя из среднегодового курса доллара в 58,3 руб. - около 10,38 млрд руб.), или 0,8% от задекларированных экспортерами $22,24 млрд. 

Впрочем, в бизнесе отдельных стивидоров лом черных металлов занимает значительное место. Например, одним из крупнейших отгрузчиков металлолома в порту Владивосток является "Владморрыбпорт". В 2015 году компания, по данным последнего годового отчета, перегрузила 289 тыс. тонн лома, в 2016-м - 376,7 тыс. тонн, в 2017-м - 408 тыс. тонн. Это около 40% от суммарного экспорта лома с Дальнего Востока. ОАО на 51,9% принадлежит московскому ООО "Геотэкс", контролируемому сингапурским Sparklin Holdings Pte Ltd (ранее учредителем компании выступала дочь экс-совладельца холдинга Evraz Александра Катунина Мария Катунина, сейчас входит в совет директоров порта), еще на 20,33% - калифорнийской Asian Metal Resources Group, бенефициаром которой считается Денис Сарана.