Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Procter & Gamble to the Far East will not go

But for the members of the American Chamber of Commerce, Vladivostok is one of the most interesting cities in Russia for doing business

Procter & Gamble to the Far East will not go

Against the backdrop of the Russia-ASEAN Summit (and, in principle, according to the official information agenda), it seems that the main economic partners of Russia in the Far East are Asians - Chinese, Koreans, and Japanese. This is not entirely true - after all, most of the foreign investment in the Far East continues to come from a number of European countries and the United States, and only recently China has reached a level with them. Such dynamics, despite all the difficulties and problems in the political relations between Russia and the USA and Europe, shows that the inflow of investments from the old investment partners of the Far Eastern macroregion is not determined by a political factor.

How exactly can the expansion of this cooperation take place is still difficult to understand, since there are very few openings for the media, expert and scientific community of meetings with American business in Russia. But some light on the prospect of US investments in the Far East recently shed during the dialogue with the media president of the American Chamber of Commerce in Russia Alexis Rodzianko in the conference "Doing business with Russia. Opportunities and rules of the game on the Russian market. "

“According to the results of a study conducted regularly by the Chamber and providing for visits to Russian regions and surveys of American companies, Vladivostok is one of the most interesting for doing business for members of the Chamber of Russia cities. What says that the Russian Far East is in the field of active attention of American business, the place of solving a number of its priority tasks, where various variants of its activity are possible. The Far East is also interesting for American business primarily because it is adjacent to Southeast Asia, whose economy is the fastest growing in the world, and also to the Pacific Ocean, which is a resource with high potential. An important factor in the attractiveness of the Far East is also the highly developed logistics complex of such large cities as Vladivostok, ”announced Alexis Rodzianko.

Another clear evidence that American business is extremely interested in the Russian Far East, according to him, is the statement by the Exxon Neftegas Limited management company Sakhalin-1, that this project is the best in the entire history of its activities, as well as intention to invest in it in 2016 year order 1 billion US dollars.

"If we talk about the branches of the economy of the Far East, in which the American capital will be concentrated in the next 10-15 years, then this is its energy, logistics, shipbuilding and fishing. In the development of any non-resource-related macroregion processing industries - such as the production of a large American company Procter & Gamble - it will not be invested because there is not enough demand for their goods in the Far Eastern regions, "said Alexis Rodzianko.

In the expert community, in turn, they are sure that the balance between American, European investments and investments of Northeast Asian countries in the Far East will not change radically.

"Despite the widespread opinion among some experts that due to the economic crisis and excessive investments made in the past, foreign countries are now not up to new investments, I will say that they are still in active search for new projects and investment territories. Since there is always an interest in investing in reliable assets - those that are capable of making a profit - in any country in the world. Another thing is that there are few such assets in the world today. The same thing that now repels foreign investors from investing in Far Eastern investment projects is that it is difficult to determine the potential markets for their products - because of the considerable distance to the macroregion from the only market that it is possible to supply large volumes of its products - from the European Part of Russia. And in this context, it should be noted that, for both American and European investors and the countries of North-East Asia, state support in the Far East, which is being actively developed by the state in the Far East, does not matter much, "explained the director of the Institute for Development Studies of the National Research University" Higher School of Economics "Natalia Akindinova.

Speaking about the trends in the structure of foreign investments in the Far East, in her opinion, it is now impossible to say with certainty that, in the short term, investments from Japan and South Korea will be overtaken by investments in the macro region by some European countries and the United States, and The volume of investments invested by China will remain with them at the level. Since the US and Europe invest in production in Russia, and in particular in the Far East, it is more than profitable because of the high costs of developing production and output on its own territory. While in Northeast Asia these costs are much lower.

At the same time, she said, it's completely unprofitable for US and European investors to stop supporting some of their projects in Russia, including in the Far East, since leaving Russia means for them costs substantially greater than those that can to arise at them because of problems with realization of production, let out with their participation by the Russian manufactures. And with a greater degree of certainty it can be assumed that, on the Russian territory, they are still held by the vision of certain production prospects in Russia.

"But even in the case of increased investment from all sides - from the US, Europe, Northeast Asia - one should not count on intensive development of the Far East. As the scale of the problems existing in the Far East is not comparable to all the possible investments in its development in the foreseeable future, "concluded Natalia Akindinova.

ER Help

Foreign direct investment in Russia in 2015 declined by more than four times compared to the previous year. This is evidenced by the data of the Central Bank of Russia, published 27 May 2016 year. According to them, in 2014, foreign investments in Russia exceeded $ 22 billion, and in 2015 amounted to $ 4,8 billion, which was the lowest since 2002. At the same time, in 2015, the total (world) volume of foreign direct investment increased by 36% compared to the previous year and amounted to $ 1,7 trillion.

The largest investments in Russia in the 2010-2014 period came from such countries as Austria, the Bahamas, the Virgin Islands, Germany, Ireland, Cyprus, China, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, and the United States.


October 26: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Procter&Gamble на Дальний Восток не пойдет

Зато для членов Американской торговой палаты Владивосток – один из самых интересных городов России для ведения бизнеса

Procter&Gamble на Дальний Восток не пойдет

На фоне прошедшего Саммита Россия–АСЕАН (да и в принципе по официальной информационное повестке) легко создается впечатление, что основными экономическими партнерами у России на Дальнем Востоке выступают азиаты – китайцы, корейцы, японцы. Это не совсем так – ведь большая часть иностранных инвестиций на Дальний Восток по-прежнему поступают от ряда европейских стран и США, и только недавно на уровень с ними вышел Китай. Такая динамика, несмотря на все сложности и проблемы в политических взаимоотношениях России с США и Европой, показывает, что приток инвестиций со стороны старых инвестиционных партнеров Дальневосточного макрорегиона определяется не политическим фактором.

Как именно может проходить расширение данного сотрудничества понять пока сложно, так как открытых для СМИ, экспертного и научного сообщества встреч с американским бизнесом в России проводится крайне мало. Но некоторый свет на перспективу инвестиций США на Дальнем Востоке недавно пролил при общении со СМИ президент Американской торговой палаты в России Алексис Родзянко в рамках конференции «Doing business with Russia. Возможности и правила игры на российском рынке».

«По результатам исследования, регулярно проводимого палатой и предусматривающего проведение выездов в российские регионы и проведение опросов американских компаний, Владивосток – один из самых интересных для ведения бизнеса членам палаты городов России. Что говорит о том, что российский Дальний Восток – в поле активного внимания американского бизнеса, место решения ряд его приоритетных задач, где возможны различные варианты его деятельности. Интересен же Дальний Восток американскому бизнесу прежде всего тем, что занимает соседнее положение с Юго-Восточной Азией, экономика которой является самой быстрорастущей в мире, а также с Тихим океаном, являющимся ресурсом с высоким потенциалом. Важным фактором привлекательности Дальнего Востока также выступает высокоразвитый логистический комплекс таких его крупных городов, как Владивосток», – объявил Алексис Родзянко.

Другим явным доказательством того, что американский бизнес крайне заинтересован в российском Дальнем Востоке, по его словам, служит заявление руководства компании-оператора проекта «Сахалин-1» «Эксон Нефтегаз Лимитед», что данный проект является лучшим за всю историю её деятельности, а также намерение вложить в него в 2016 году порядка 1 млрд долларов США.

«Если говорить об отраслях хозяйства Дальнего Востока, в которых в ближайшие 10-15 лет будет концентрироваться американский капитал, то это его энергетика, логистика, судостроение и рыболовство. В развитие же каких-либо не связанных с ресурсной базой макрорегиона перерабатывающих производств – таких, как как выпуск продукции крупной американской компании Procter&Gamble – он вкладываться не будет по причине отсутствия в дальневосточных субъектах достаточного спроса на их товары», – сообщил Алексис Родзянко.

В экспертном сообществе, в свою очередь, уверены, что баланс между американскими, европейскими инвестициями и вложениями стран Северо-Восточной Азии на Дальнем Востоке кардинальным образом не изменится.

«Несмотря на распространённое сейчас среди некоторых экспертов мнение, что вследствие экономического кризиса и избыточных инвестиций, осуществлённых в прошлом, зарубежным странам сейчас не до новых вложений, скажу, что они все равно находятся сегодня в активных поисках новых проектов и территорий инвестирования. Так как интерес к инвестициям в надежные активы – те, что способны принести прибыль – у любой страны мира есть всегда. Другое дело, что таких активов сейчас во всем мире мало. То же, что отталкивает сегодня зарубежных инвесторов от вложений в инвестиционные проекты Дальнего Востока, так это то, что сложно определить потенциальные рынки сбыта их продукции – в силу значительной удалённости макрорегиона от того единственного рынка, на который возможно поставлять большие объёмы его продукции – от европейской части России. И в данном контексте следует отметить, что как для американских и европейских инвесторов, так и из стран Северо-Восточной Азии, активно развиваемая сейчас государством на Дальнем Востоке господдержка большого значения не имеет», – объяснила директор Института «Центр развития» Национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики» Наталья Акиндинова.

Говоря, в свою очередь, о тенденциях в структуре иностранных инвестиций на Дальнем Востоке, по её мнению, сейчас нельзя с уверенностью утверждать, что уже в ближайшей перспективе вложения со стороны Японии и Южной Кореи догонят инвестируемые в макрорегион некоторыми европейскими странами и США средства, а объём инвестиций, вкладываемый Китаем, останется с ними на уровне. Так как США и Европе вкладываться в производство на российской территории, и, в частности, на Дальнем Востоке, более, чем выгодно в силу высоких издержек развития производства и выпуска продукции на собственной территории. Тогда как в странах Северо-Восточной Азии такие издержки гораздо ниже.

При этом, по её словам, американским и европейским инвесторам совершенно невыгодно и прекращать поддерживать какие-то свои проекты в России, и, в том числе, на Дальнем Востоке, так как уйти с российской территории означает для них издержки существенно большие тех, что могут возникнуть у них из-за проблем с реализацией продукции, выпускаемой с их участием российскими производствами. Да и с большей долей уверенности можно полагать, что на российской территории их, все-таки, удерживает видение определенных перспектив производства в России. 

«Но даже в случае увеличения поступления инвестиций со всех сторон – из США, Европы, Северо-Восточной Азии – не следует рассчитывать на интенсивное развитие Дальнего Востока. Так как масштаб существующих у Дальнего Востока проблем не сопоставим со всем возможным в обозримой перспективе объёмом вложений в его развитие», – заключила Наталья Акиндинова.

   

Справка ER

Прямые иностранные инвестиции в Россию в 2015 году сократились более чем в четыре раза по сравнению с предыдущим годом. Об этом свидетельствуют данные Центрального банка РФ, опубликованные 27 мая 2016 года. Согласно им, в 2014 году вложения зарубежных инвесторов в РФ превысили $22 млрд, а в 2015 году составили $4,8 млрд, что стало самым низким показателем, начиная с 2002 года. В то же время в 2015 году общий (мировой) объем прямых иностранных инвестиций по сравнению с предыдущим годом вырос на 36% и составил $1,7 трлн.

Наибольшие инвестиции в Россию в период 2010-2014 годов поступили со стороны таких стран, как Австрия, Багамы, Виргинские острова, Германия, Ирландия, Кипр, Китай, Люксембург, Нидерланды, Великобритания, США.