Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Russians in Montreal

About the life of the Russian community in the largest city of French-speaking Canada

Russians in Montreal
Photo: Alexander Plakhov

According to the 2006 census, in Canada there were more than half a million inhabitants who call Russian their first or second language. It is obvious that over the past eight years the number of Russian-speaking immigrants from Russia and the countries of the former USSR has grown. Once they are in a new society, they must integrate into the economic and social life and at the same time solve the most difficult question of national self-determination for themselves and their children. The Russian community in Montreal was one of the first to find the answer and set an example of successful synthesis of two cultures.

It should immediately be noted that Russians in Canada are understood as all immigrants from the territory of the former Russian Empire or the USSR, who communicate in Russian, regardless of nationality. Ukrainians, Moldovans, Jews, Belarusians, representatives of the Central Asian and Caucasian republics are called "Russians". Although Russian emigration to Canada has never been as massive as emigration to European countries and the United States, it can be conditionally divided into several “waves”.

In the 1870th century, immigration from Russia to Canada was mainly of a religious nature. Several thousand Russian-German Mennonites were among the first to move across the ocean, and in the 1898s they settled on the territory of what is now the province of Saskatchewan. The next major group of settlers arrived in Canada at the end of the 1899th century. These were representatives of the Dukhobor community, a Christian denomination that was persecuted by the authorities in Russia. Financial support for their move was provided by L.N. Tolstoy, who donated for these purposes the fee for the novel "Resurrection". In 8-XNUMX, about XNUMX thousand Dukhobors settled in what is now the province of Saskatchewan. Subsequently, they had to move again - further west, to the province of British Columbia. In the XNUMXth and early XNUMXth centuries, a significant number of immigrants from Poland and Finland, which were then part of the Russian Empire, also arrived in Canada. For example, the famous actress and Playboy star Pamela Anderson has Finnish roots and Russian ancestors on the mother's side.

A truly massive immigration began after the 1917 revolution. She was also compelled. Originally they were representatives of the intelligentsia, military, nobility - all who did not agree with the coming to power of the Communists. They founded the first Russian communities in Canadian cities, mainly in Vancouver, Toronto and Montreal. A prominent representative of this wave was the distinguished Canadian diplomat Georgy Pavlovich Ignatiev, the son of Count P.N. Ignatieff and Princess Natalia Meshcherskaya. The family left Russia when he was 5 years old. Subsequently, he served as Canada's ambassador to Yugoslavia, the country's permanent representative to NATO and the United Nations. The descendants of these emigrants carefully preserve the literary Russian language and culture, but at the same time avoid contacts with representatives of later waves of Soviet emigration.

The next influx of Russian-speaking immigrants occurred in the 1940-s. After the war, former prisoners of war, who were afraid to return to the USSR and fled from Europe, went to Canada, as well as a wide class of those who under Stalin were considered "enemies of the people", including real war criminals who collaborated in the fascists. Most of the visitors wanted to quickly dissolve in the new society and forget their past. However, not everyone can do this. Thus, in 2008, Canada issued Italy to the Nazi criminal Michael Seifert. The military court in Verona sentenced the 84-year-old SS to life imprisonment. In 2012, the Simon Wiesenthal Center, engaged in the search for Nazi criminals around the world, announced that one of the suspects in the massacre of the village of Khatyn lives near Montreal. However, the case of his extradition did not receive a move because of a lack of evidence.

The next wave of immigration 1970-80-x consisted of dissidents, human rights activists and those few who could illegally cross the border. For example, in 1980 during the transfer to the airport in Canada, the Soviet chess grandmaster Igor Ivanov fled. The bulk of immigrants of the era of stagnation are intelligent people, mostly of Jewish origin, since only Jews had the right to leave the Soviet Union. They quickly integrated into a strong Jewish community, but continue to communicate among themselves in Russian.

The modern and probably the most massive stage of immigration of native speakers of Russian language and culture to Canada began with the collapse of the USSR. Sometimes it is also divided into several periods. First of all, Russians from the former Soviet republics began to leave for Canada, faced with the discriminatory policies of the new national governments and unable to get to Russia. Among them were immigrants from Moldova, Kazakhstan, the Baltic countries and Ukraine. According to their stories, many rode at random, not knowing the language and not having an idea about the Canadian society. Since the end of 1990, a wave of new, "economic" migration has begun. Business people and qualified specialists with sufficient funds and knowledge of foreign languages ​​go to Canada. Their choice is motivated not by political reasons, but by more comfortable working and living conditions in Canada, security and a good education for children. Thanks to the development of communications, they do not lose contact with Russia, retain Russian citizenship and often travel between the two countries. For business people, immigration to Canada is one of the most accessible ways to obtain a passport, which enables unimpeded access to most countries of the world.

Russian community and Russian language in Montreal

Montreal is a unique example for North America where a large Russian-speaking community exists in a bilingual environment. The official language of the province of Quebec, where the city is located, is French, but up to 20% of the inhabitants of Montreal still speak English. According to various sources, the Russian diaspora here has thousands of people from 60 to 80, so Russian is regularly heard on the streets. The city has many businesses: from driving schools to hairdressers, whose owners are Russian-speaking Canadians. For example, in Montreal there are almost two dozen stores that sell products familiar to Russia: from Red October candy and gingerbread to salted cucumbers and buckwheat. And many products are manufactured in America at the enterprises of immigrants from the countries of the former USSR. There are several Russian-language newspapers in the city, a Russian-language television channel and radio. On New Year's Eve on local French-speaking television, you can easily stumble upon a program where a Russian chef tells you how to cook a traditional kulebyaka.

In the Russian-speaking community of the city there are representatives of all the waves of Russian emigration, although most have arrived in Montreal over the past 20 years. In terms of their ethnic composition, they are mostly immigrants from Moldova, Ukraine, Belarus, Russians who left the republics of Central Asia, Jews who moved from Israel. Immigrants from Russia make up only a small part of the Russian-speaking community, but among them there are representatives of almost all regions of the Russian Federation.

After moving to another country and the first years necessary for settling in a new place, the issue of preserving one's cultural and national identity arises before Russian-speaking immigrants. On the one hand, many are on the path of full integration into Canadian society. This means a gradual, but inevitable break from Russian culture and the extinction of the native language. In such families, the process of assimilation is especially rapid in children who fully integrate into the French or English-speaking environment. To do this, it is enough to just leave the child for a short while without Russian-speaking communication. At the same time, French in Quebec is moving very aggressively - even at school changes students are required to speak only in the official language of the province.

As the statistics show, in 1951 the Russian language considered 188 thousands of Canadians native, in 1971 - about 160 thousand, and in 20 years - from 32 to 35 thousand people. This trend can be explained by the influence of a number of demographic factors, including the process of assimilation.

On the other hand, Russian immigrants, especially intelligent people, hold fast to their culture and always look for ways to preserve the language and instill in children a sense of pride for their native country. For believers, this possibility is given by the Russian Orthodox Church, which is relatively widely represented in Quebec. In a province with a population of 8 million people, there are six Orthodox parishes, half of which are in Montreal.

Russian school

If the church gives the community the opportunity for spiritual self-determination and the preservation of religious traditions, then the Russian-speaking school for immigrant children became the way of education of love for the native language, history and culture. "The people we work with are focused on preserving their group and ethnic identity, preserving everything that they brought with them," says Tatyana Kruglikova, director of the Saturday school in Russia "Gramota." 17 years ago, a graduate of the philological faculty of Moscow State University opened the first educational institution in Canada, oriented to the basic Russian education program. Today, it already has more than 500 children. "The craving for everything" their own "in the American continent is much more pronounced than in immigrants in Europe. Therefore, they want the child, in addition to local education, to receive a reliable and already well-known Russian education in mathematics, Russian language, literature, history of Russia and the world, geography, music culture, "she explains.

The 30 classes of the Russian school include early development groups, two preparatory levels, all elementary classes, middle and senior 6 classes, a Russian language class and a college preparation class. Children study according to the latest Russian textbooks and special didactic developments for the Russian school abroad, and some universities might envy the teaching staff. At school there are painting circles, Russian folk crafts, dances, choral and theater studios, a karate section.

Parents who have a Soviet or Russian education behind their backs usually do not like the program of the Canadian high school, which lags behind almost all subjects, especially in mathematics, physics, chemistry. Therefore, in the Russian school, students study not only language and literature, but also exact sciences. Thanks to this, French and English teachers of lyceums and colleges unanimously say that Russian students are very strong in mathematics. Children complain that they practically do not teach world history in Canada, but from year to year they are forced to study the chronicles of their provinces. This gap must be filled in the Russian school. Since 2001, the students of "Literacy" take part in the International Internet contest "Mother tongue, great sounds! ..", where their compositions regularly receive prizes.

Synthesis of two cultures

"The school is the most effective way to maintain Russian identity through the Russian environment, thanks to communication between Russian children and mainly thanks to the friendship that is tied up among Russian peers," notes Tatyana Kruglikova. Indeed, according to the observations of Russian immigrants - adults and adolescents, for North Americans, the phrase "there is no bond of fellowship!" Seems at least strange. Raised in an atmosphere of extreme individualism and pragmatism, Canadian teenagers do not allow close friendship, which means a too deep invasion of personal space. "They always stay at the distance, even school friends, with whom we communicated for five years and with whom we had very good relations," one of the graduates of the Russian school shares her impressions. As a result, real friendship in the Russian sense of this word, meaning the rejection of selfish interests in favor of the common, is possible only between Russian-speaking children.

Another distinguishing feature of children who live in Canadian society, but retain Russian cultural traditions, is a much broader horizon compared to their peers. They equally well master three languages: Russian, French and English, strive to get a prestigious education, to succeed in life, maintaining a clear national identity. They are open, educated, tolerant and feel themselves to be real citizens of the world. This is a unique phenomenon, which became possible due to the synthesis of Russian and Western cultures.

Finally, these children have learned in Canada to love Russia. "These guys are carriers of special patriotism. All of them undoubtedly feel themselves to be Russians and are ready to tell in detail, in their own way and quite distinctly, what is meant by this, "explains the director of the school" Gramota ". It may seem strange to the Russian reader, but many children who grew up in Canada even find it hard to believe that there is a country in the world where all people - in the street, in the metro, shops, schools, at playgrounds - speak Russian. They are proud of Russia and would very much like to visit it.

September 18: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Русские в Монреале

О жизни русской общины в крупнейшем городе франкоязычной Канады

Русские в Монреале
Фото: Александр Плахов

По данным переписи 2006 года, в Канаде насчитывалось больше полумиллиона жителей, которые называют русский своим первым или вторым языком. Очевидно, что за последние восемь лет число русскоязычных иммигрантов из России и стран бывшего СССР выросло. Попав в новое общество, они должны интегрироваться в экономическую и социальную жизнь и одновременно решить сложнейший вопрос о национальном самоопределении для себя и своих детей. Русская община в Монреале одной из первых нащупала ответ и подает пример успешного синтеза двух культур.

Следует сразу оговориться, что под русскими в Канаде понимают всех выходцев с территории бывшей Российской империи или СССР, общающихся на русском языке независимо от национальности. «Русскими» называют украинцев, молдован, евреев, белорусов, представителей среднеазиатских и кавказских республик. Хотя русская эмиграция в Канаду никогда не была такой массовой, как эмиграция в европейские страны и США, ее можно условно разделить на несколько «волн».

В XIX веке иммиграция из России в Канаду носила в основном религиозный характер. Одними из первых за океан переехали несколько тысяч русско-немецких менонитов, которые в 1870-е годы поселились на территории нынешней провинции Саскачеван. Следующая крупная группа переселенцев прибыла в Канаду в конце XIX века. Это были представители общины духоборов – христианской конфессии, которая подвергалась в России преследованиям со стороны властей. Финансовую поддержку их переезду оказывал Л.Н. Толстой, передавший на эти цели гонорар за роман «Воскресение». В 1898–1899 годах около 8 тыс. духоборов обосновались на территории нынешней провинции Саскачеван. Впоследствии им пришлось переселиться еще раз – дальше на запад, в провинцию Британская Колумбия. В XIX – начале XX века в Канаду также прибыло значительное число иммигрантов из Польши и Финляндии, входивших тогда в состав Российской империи. Например, известная актриса и звезда журнала «Плейбой» Памела Андерсон имеет финские корни и русских предков со стороны матери.

По-настоящему массовая иммиграция началась после революции 1917 года. Она также была вынужденной. Первоначально это были представители интеллигенции, военных, дворянства – все, кто не был согласен с приходом к власти коммунистов. Они основали первые русские общины в канадских городах, главным образом в Ванкувере, Торонто и Монреале. Ярким представителем этой волны был выдающийся канадский дипломат Георгий Павлович Игнатьев – сын графа П.Н. Игнатьева и княгини Натальи Мещерской. Семья покинула Россию, когда ему было 5 лет. Впоследствии он служил послом Канады в Югославии, постоянным представителем страны в НАТО и ООН. Потомки этих эмигрантов бережно сохраняют литературный русский язык и культуру, но при этом избегают контактов с представителями более поздних волн уже советской эмиграции.

Следующий приток русскоязычных иммигрантов произошел в 1940-е годы. После войны в Канаду поехали бывшие военнопленные, боявшиеся возвращаться в СССР и бежавшие из Европы, а также широкая категория тех, кого при Сталине считали «врагами народа», включая настоящих военных преступников, сотрудничавших в фашистами. Большинство из приехавших стремилось поскорее раствориться в новом обществе и забыть свое прошлое. Однако сделать это дают не всем. Так, в 2008 году Канада выдала Италии нацистского преступника Михаэля Зайферта. Военный суд в Вероне приговорил 84-летнего эсэсовца к пожизненному заключению. В 2012-м Центр Симона Визенталя, занимающийся поиском нацистских преступников по всему миру, объявил, что недалеко от Монреаля проживает один из подозреваемых в массовом убийстве жителей деревни Хатынь. Правда, дело о его выдаче не получило хода из-за недостатка доказательств.

Следующая иммиграционная волна 1970–80-х состояла из диссидентов, участников правозащитного движения и тех немногих, кто смог нелегально пересечь границу. Например, в 1980 году во время пересадки в аэропорту в Канаду бежал советский шахматный гроссмейстер Игорь Иванов. Основная часть иммигрантов эпохи застоя – это интеллигентные люди, главным образом еврейского происхождения, поскольку лишь евреи имели право покидать Советский Союз. Они достаточно быстро интегрировались в сильную еврейскую общину, однако продолжают общаться между собой на русском языке.

Современный и, наверное, самый массовый этап иммиграции носителей русского языка и культуры в Канаду начался с распадом СССР. Иногда его тоже делят на несколько периодов. В первую очередь в Канаду стали уезжать русские из бывших советских республик, столкнувшиеся с дискриминационной политикой новых национальных правительств и не имевшие возможности попасть в Россию. Среди них преобладали выходцы из Молдовы, Казахстана, стран Прибалтики и Украины. По их рассказам, многие ехали наудачу, не зная языка и не имея представления о канадском обществе. С конца 1990-х началась волна новой, «экономической», миграции. В Канаду едут деловые люди и квалифицированные специалисты с достаточным количеством средств и знанием иностранных языков. Их выбор мотивирован не политическими причинами, а более комфортными условиями работы и жизни в Канаде, безопасностью и хорошим образованием для детей. Благодаря развитию коммуникаций они не теряют связи с Россией, сохраняют российское гражданство и часто путешествуют между двумя странами. Для деловых людей иммиграция в Канаду – один из самых доступных способов получить паспорт, который дает возможность беспрепятственно посещать большинство стран мира.

Русская община и русский язык в Монреале

Монреаль – уникальный для Северной Америки пример, когда крупная русскоязычная община существует в двуязычной среде. Официальным языком провинции Квебек, где расположен город, является французский, но до 20% жителей Монреаля все-таки общаются на английском. По разным данным, русская диаспора насчитывает здесь от 60 до 80 тыс. человек, поэтому на улицах регулярно слышна русская речь. В городе работает множество предприятий: от автошкол до парикмахерских, владельцами которых являются русскоговорящие канадцы. Например, в Монреале насчитывается почти два десятка магазинов, где продаются привычные в России продукты: от конфет фабрики «Красный Октябрь» и пряников до соленых огурцов и гречки. Причем многие продукты производятся в Америке на предприятиях иммигрантов из стран бывшего СССР. В городе издается несколько русскоязычных газет, работают русскоязычные телеканал и радио. На Новый год по местному франкоязычному телевидению можно запросто наткнуться на передачу, где русский повар рассказывает, как готовить традиционную кулебяку.

В русскоязычной общине города есть представители всех волн русской эмиграции, хотя большинство прибыло в Монреаль за последние 20 лет. По своему этническому составу это в основном выходцы из Молдовы, Украины, Белоруссии, русские, покинувшие республики Средней Азии, евреи, переехавшие из Израиля. Иммигранты из России составляют лишь незначительную часть русскоязычной общины, но среди них есть представители практически всех регионов Российской Федерации.

После переезда в другую страну и первых лет, необходимых для обустройства на новом месте, перед русскоговорящими иммигрантами остро встает вопрос о сохранении своего культурного и национального самосознания. С одной стороны, многие встают на путь полной интеграции в канадское общество. Это означает постепенный, но неотвратимый отрыв от русской культуры и угасание родного языка. В таких семьях процесс ассимиляции особенно быстро происходит у детей, которые полностью интегрируются во франко- или англоязычную среду. Для этого достаточно лишь ненадолго оставить ребенка без русскоязычного общения. В то же время французский в Квебеке продвигается очень агрессивно – даже на школьных переменах ученики обязаны говорить только на официальном языке провинции.

Как показывает статистика, в 1951 году русский язык считали родным 188 тыс. канадцев, в 1971-м – около 160 тыс., а еще через 20 лет – от 32 до 35 тыс. человек. Такая тенденция может объясняться влиянием целого ряда демографических факторов, в число которых входит и процесс ассимиляции.

С другой стороны, русские иммигранты, особенно интеллигентные люди, крепко держатся за свою культуру и всегда ищут способы сохранить язык и привить детям чувство гордости за родную страну. Для верующих такую возможность дает Русская православная церковь, которая сравнительно широко представлена в Квебеке. В провинции с населением 8 млн человек действуют шесть православных приходов, половина из которых приходится на Монреаль.

Русская школа

Если церковь дает общине возможность для духовного самоопределения и сохранения религиозных традиций, то способом воспитания любви к родному языку, истории и культуре стала русскоязычная школа для детей иммигрантов. «Люди, с которыми мы работаем, ориентированы на то, чтобы сохранить свою групповую и этническую идентичность, на сохранение всего того, что они привезли с собой», – рассказывает Татьяна Кругликова, директор субботней русской школы «Грамота». 17 лет назад выпускница филологического факультета МГУ открыла первое в Канаде учебное заведение, ориентированное на базовую российскую программу обучения. Сегодня в нем учатся уже больше 500 детей. «Тяга ко всему «своему» на Американском континенте гораздо более выражена, чем у иммигрантов в Европе. Поэтому они хотят, чтобы ребенок, помимо местного образования, получил надежное и уже известное им русское образование по математике, русскому языку, литературе, истории России и мира, географии, музыкальной культуре», – поясняет она.

В состав 30 классов русской школы входят группы раннего развития, два подготовительных уровня, все начальные классы, 6 классов среднего и старшего звена, класс русской речи и класс подготовки в колледж. Дети учатся по новейшим российским учебникам и специальным дидактическим разработкам для русской школы за рубежом, а преподавательскому составу могут позавидовать некоторые университеты. При школе работают кружки живописи, русских народных ремесел, танцев, хоровая и театральная студии, секция карате.

Родителей, имеющих за спиной советское или российское образование, обычно не устраивает программа канадской средней школы, которая отстает практически по всем предметам, в особенности по математике, физике, химии. Поэтому в русской школе ученики изучают не только язык и литературу, но и точные науки. Благодаря этому французские и английские учителя лицеев и колледжей в один голос говорят, что русские ученики очень сильны в математике. Дети жалуются, что в Канаде им практически не преподают мировую историю, зато из года в год они вынуждены изучать хронику своих провинций. Этот пробел приходится заполнять в русской школе. С 2001 года ученики «Грамоты» принимают участие в Международном интернет-конкурсе «Родной язык, великие звуки!..», где их сочинения регулярно получают призовые места.

Синтез двух культур

«Школа – наиболее эффективный способ поддержания русской идентичности благодаря русской среде, благодаря общению между русскими детьми и главным образом благодаря дружбе, которая завязывается среди русских сверстников», – отмечает Татьяна Кругликова. Действительно, по наблюдениям русских иммигрантов – взрослых и подростков, для североамериканцев фраза классика «нет уз святее товарищества!» кажется по меньшей мере странной. Воспитанные в атмосфере крайнего индивидуализма и прагматизма, канадские тинейджеры не допускают близкой дружбы, означающей слишком глубокое вторжение в личное пространство. «Они всегда держатся на дистанции, даже школьные подруги, с которыми мы общались пять лет и с которыми у нас были очень хорошие отношения», – делится впечатлениями одна из выпускниц русской школы. В итоге настоящая дружба в русском понимании этого слова, означающем отказ от эгоистичных интересов в пользу общих, оказывается возможной только между русскоязычными детьми.

Еще одна отличительная черта детей, которые живут в канадском обществе, но сохраняют российские культурные традиции, – это гораздо более широкий кругозор по сравнению со своими сверстниками. Они равным образом блестяще владеют тремя языками: русским, французским и английским, стремятся получить престижное образование, преуспеть в жизни, сохраняя четкое национальное самосознание. Они открыты, образованны, толерантны и чувствуют себя настоящими гражданами мира. Это уникальное явление, которое стало возможным благодаря синтезу русской и западной культур.

Наконец, эти дети научились в Канаде любить Россию. «Эти ребята – носители особого патриотизма. Все они безусловно ощущают себя русскими и готовы подробно, по-своему и достаточно самобытно рассказать, что под этим подразумевается», – поясняет директор школы «Грамота». Российскому читателю это может показаться странным, но многим ребятам, выросшим в Канаде, даже трудно поверить, что на свете есть страна, где все люди – на улице, в метро, магазинах, школах, на детских площадках – разговаривают на русском языке. Они гордятся Россией и очень хотели бы в ней побывать.